« PreviousContinue »
church cost about $30,000 and though there are many more expensive churches in the diocese of Toledo, few excel it in architectural effect or beauty of finish. In 1885 Father Braschler erected a neat brick pastoral residence, next to the church, at a cost of about $3,000.
On May 30, 1887, the beautiful spire, 200 feet in height, was struck by lightning during a heavy storm, the massive structure falling to the ground totally ruined. The insurance companies paid only a part of the loss, and not until after much pressure was brought to bear on them. The spire was not rebuilt, but, instead, the tower on which it stood was put in good repair and it is in that condition at present.
Father Braschler was succeeded in November, 1888, by Rev. Aloysius Huthmacher. He found a debt of only $8,000 on the church property-an eloquent evidence of the generosity of the people and the prudent financial management of Father Braschler.
In 1891 Father Huthmacher designed and secured two Gothic side altars, in harmony with the interior of the church. They were donated. An artistic array of statuary (nearly all donated) was also placed in position, thus adding much to the beauty of the church.
The present splendid main altar of Gothic design, also a donation from a parishioner, was designed by Father Huthmacher, and built in 1892, and in December, 1900, a fine set of stations was erected. During 1901 the church was most beautifully frescoed and otherwise embellished at the cost of $2,150, and now St. Peter's church, for its size and cost, ranks second to few churches in the diocese.
The first school was organized shortly after the first church was erected. The building was a small and very plain frame structure and for many years stood on the old church lot. Until 1890 the school was taught by lay teachers. The out-of-the-way location, however, made it very objectionable to the children, many of whom had to go a long distance to attend school. To obviate this difficulty Father Huthmacher purchased an excellent piece of property, diagonally opposite the church. It was deeded on March 6, 1897, and cost $3,800. The large brick residence on the acre of ground purchased was remodeled into three class rooms and a part of the building was reserved as a home for the four Dominican Sisters, in charge since 1898.
In the year 1904 a substantial addition was built to the neat but somewhat small parochial residence. The added improvements including a hot water and lighting system, cost $2,860.
On July 7, 1905, the noble hearted and zealous Father Huthmacher, after a most eventful and fruitful career, in recognition of his great abilities was entrusted with the important charge of St. Mary's congregation, Massillon, Ohio, and was succeeded by the present pastor, the Rev. John R. Forrer; but man proposes and God disposes. The Rev. Aloysius Huthmacher left St. Peter's congregation, broken down in health and died within eight days after his departure from the Indian village. On Saturday, July 15, 1905, the community was shocked by the sad news that Father Huthmacher had died. His mortal remains arrived here on Sunday afternoon, July 16, and lay in state in St. Peter's church until the day of burial which took place on July 18, 1905. The great outpouring of people, irrespective of their religious beliefs, who reviewed the remains and attended the funeral, showed the high respect in which Father Huthmacher was held and how he had endeared himself to the citizens of Upper Sandusky. He was a public-spirited citizen and took a deep interest in the civic affairs of the city.
His mortal remains were laid to rest in St. Peter's cemetery.
During the summer of 1906 a substantial and neat but sorely needed Sister's residence was erected, equipped with all the modern improvements, at a cost of $3,000.
During the year 1908 St. Peter's Catholic cemetery was extensively improved. A new and beautiful priests' mound was built, destined to be the burial place for the deceased pastors of St. Peter's congregation. The remains of the late Father Huthmacher and of Father Reinhardt were taken up and buried on this beautiful mound. During the same year a cast-iron-bronze crucifixion group, a work of art, imported from France by Benziger Brothers, Cincinnati, Ohio, was erected on the mound. The group cost $600 and is resting on a base built of Bedford blue stone. The base cost nearly $400. New and beautiful avenues were laid out and a fine entrance gate erected. The total cost of improvements on said cemetery during the year 1908 amounted to
$2,000 and the new cemetery is now an object of pride for the members of St. Peter's congregation.
During the year 1912 a magnificent, powerful, two-manual pipe organ, one of the finest in Northwestern Ohio, consisting of twenty-two speaking stops, and costing $4,500, was installed and blessed on June 10, 1912. On said occasion an organ recital was given by Caspar Koch of Carnegie Institute, Pittsburgh, Pa. The audience which filled the church to overflowing, was amazed at the majesty, beauty and power of the organ tone. Nearly $3,000 had been subscribed for this grand instrument by the generous parishioners.
The workmanship and material throughout is of a high order. The organ was built by A. J. Schantz's Sons, Orville, Ohio.
The parish is composed of about one hundred and twenty German and twenty-five Irish families and is a model in every respect.
The town of Carey is second in size in the county, and derived its name from Judge John Carey, who at its founding was president of the Indiana, Bloomington & Western Railroad, upon which it was situated.
Carey was laid out by R. M. Shuler and W. M. Buell in 1843, these gentlemen owning the land upon which it is situated. The town is pleasantly located in the northwestern part of the county, ten miles from Upper Sandusky.
It will be seen that the town of Carey was laid out two years previous to the organization of Wyandot county, and this fact, after all that has been said in regard to the general development of the county in previous chapters, is sufficient evidence to most readers, no doubt, that the territory of the vicinity in which Carey is located was exceedingly wild and uncultivated at the period of its history above referred to.
In the same year in which the town was founded, John Houck made the initial step in the way of architecture by erecting a frame building on Findlay (or Main) street, where he engaged in hotel-keeping, the first business of the kind, or of any kind, done in the town.
The pioneer merchant of Carey was W. M. Buell, who erected a frame store room one story high, 22x80 feet in size,
in 1843, and began business in the sale of general merchandise, with a stock valued at $10,000.
The erection of this building was followed in quick succession by those of Aaron Welsh, Peter Kenan, Mr. Cody, Michael Grussell, D. Straw, Curtis Berry, Shumaker, McDowell and others, the exact dates of their erection being unknown.
R. W. Reed, McD. M. Carey and H. J. Starr established the next business house in Carey, the firm being known as Reed, Carey & Co. Their stock consisted of general merchandise, valued at $6,000 to $8,000. The third business house which sprang up in the then promising village was established by Jones Park; the fourth by McDowell & Baker, and the fifth by John E. James, all dealing in general merchandise.
In the fall of 1845, David Straw established a small grocery store in Carey with a capital of less than $50.
Among the first teachers were Juliette Searles, A. W. Brinkerhoff, Miss Labaree, Mr. Thompson, J. N. Free (“the immortal”), James and Mary Foster, Albert Myers and Mr. Brundridge.
The old Carey Mills was erected by Enos and William Wonder in 1844. Except the Old Indian Mill near Upper Sandusky, it was the oldest mill in the county. The Carey Mills were established in 1845, the building having been erected for a warehouse. It was one of the first structures in the town and underwent many changes. In 1867 it was converted into a flouring mill, and named the “Carey Mills.”
NATURAL ADVANTAGES OF CAREY
By Homer Thrall
Carey, like most cities of its class, is a “country town.” It is the center of a farming community and is dependent upon the agricultural resources of the surrounding country for its growth and prosperity. It is especially fortunate in this respect. The farming lands which are tributary to it are diversified. South, southeast and southwest the lands are of the character common to this section of Ohio, productive, well watered and drained. North and northwest are lands of another character, called “ridge lands,” elevated and in sone seasons producing better crops than those above mentioned.
Besides these is the “prairie.” This is an area commencing in the north part of the corporation and extending in the