Page images
PDF
EPUB

129 Central Rail Road Company of Staten Island

(Richmond) Incorporation. December 2, 1869; General Railroad Law of 1850; corporate life 50 years; capital stock $50,000; route (about two miles) as follows:

The road of the said Company is to be constructed and maintained in the county of Richmond, in the state of New York, and shall begin at West Brighton in said county, and end at or near Centerville or Four Corners in said county.

Map. August 12, 1871, the Company filed in the office of the county clerk of Richmond County, a map showing its route as follows:

Running on Richmond terrace from a point in the village of New Brighton at about Westervelt avenue, or a little east thereof, to a point at about Stuyvesant place, to a street not named on the map, but which was probably that now known as Fort place, on that street to Tompkins avenue; on Tompkins avenue to a street not named on the map, but which was undoubtedly Richmond turnpike, continuing on a street not named on the map, but which was no doubt Sarah Ann street, to Bay street; on Bay street to Richmond road, at the boundary between the town of Castleton and the town of Southfield, and continuing on Bay street in the town of Southfield to a point a little south of Thompson street.

Construction. No record of any construction. The Company has probably forfeited its corporate existence.

130 Central Railroad Company of Staten Island

(Richmond) Incorporation. July 11, 1873; General Railroad Law of 1850; corporate life, 500 years; capital stock, $150,000; route (about 15 miles) as follows:

Commencing at or near New Brighton, or Port Richmond, Richmond County, and by the most feasible route via Centerville, Richmond and Rossville, terminating at or near Tottenville.

Construction. No record of any construction. The Company has probably forfeited its corporate existence.

131 The Central Tunnel Railroad Company

(Manhattan) Incorporation. March 26, 1881; General Railroad Law of 1850, and chapter 582, laws of 1880, “An act to provide for excavating tunneling and bridging for transportation purposes”; corporate

[ocr errors]

life, 99 years; capital stock, $5,000,000; route (about three miles) as follows:

Commencing at or near City Hall park in the cty, county and state of New York and terminating at or near the Grand Central depot at 42d street in said city, county and state:- To be constructed from a point at or near the City Hall park in said city of New York, and running thence northerly to and under Chambers street and through the block to and under Reade street, to Elm street; thence northerly through and under Elm street to and under Spring street; thence northerly through the blocks and under the cross streets to and under Great Jones street; thence northerly through and under Lafayette place to and under Astor place and Eighth street; thence northerly and through the blocks to and under Ninth street to Fourth avenue; thence northerly through and under Fourth avenue to and under 420 street to or near the Grand Central depot; connecting with the Fourth Avenue improvement.

Maps. March 28, 1882, the Company filed in the register's office of New York County a map of its underground route

From Park Row at Broadway under same and City Hall park, Elm street, and Marion street to north of Prince; thence under private property, Lafay. ette place to north side of East Eighth street, thence under private property to south side of East Ninth; thence under Fourth avenue to Grand Central depot.

Intercorporate relations. In the Company's report to the Railroad Commision for year 1895, it was stated that whatever rights it possessed had been taken over by the Terminal Underground Railroad Company (no. 654). Construction.

In its report for 1895 the cost of the road is given as $10,065.36. This cost was probably preliminary engineering work only. No record of any construction. The Company has probably forfeited its corporate existence.

132 Chambers Street and Grand Street Ferry Railroad Company

(Manhattan) Incorporation. August 9, 1884; General Street Railroad Law of 1884; for purpose of constructing a street surface railroad; corporate life, 1000 years; capital stock, $800,000; route (about 21/2 miles) as follows:

Commencing at the foot of Roosevelt street, East river, and running to the Pavonia ferry at the foot of Chambers street, North river, connecting also with the ferry at the foot of Grand street, East river.

Special franchises. December 30, 1884, by resolution of the common council, the Company obtained a franchise to construct its road upon streets as follows:

On South street from Roosevelt street to James slip; on James slip from South street to New Chambers street, and on New Chambers street from James slip to Chatham street, double track; on Chambers street from Chatham street to North river, single track; on West street from Chambers street to Duane street, single or double tracks; on Duane street from West street to Chatham street, single track; on Madison street from New Chambers street to Grand street, double tracks; on Grand street from Madison street to the ferry at the East river; on Jackson street from Madison street to Cherry street; on Cherry street from Jackson street to the East river, and on East street from Cherry street to Grand street, double or single track.

October 21, 1886, by permit of the department of docks, the Company obtained the right to lay its tracks and switches upon the newly made land in front of the Pavonia ferry during the pleasure of the department.

Stock. In June, 1886, the entire capital stock of the Company was acquired by the Metropolitan Traction Company.

Intercorporate relations. (See also chart I, no. 14.) June 14, 1886, The Central Park, North and East River Railroad Company granted the Company the privilege of running its cars upon the easterly track (known as the up track) of the Central Park Company on West street, between Chambers and Duane streets.

September 6, 1886, The Central Park, North and East River Railroad Company granted the Company the privilege of running its cars upon the track of the Central Park Company on Jackson street between Cherry and Monroe streets.

January 31, 1891, this Company was merged into the Houston. West Street and Pavonia Ferry Railroad Company (no. 279), and on December 12, 1893, that company was merged with the Metropolitan Street Railway Company.

Construction. The Company's road was completed and opened for operation in 1886. The route is now operated by the New York Railways Company.

133 Chambers Street Cross-Town Railroad Company

(Manhattan) Incorporation. December 2, 1879; General Railroad Law of 1850; for purpose of constructing a single or double track, horse railroad with iron or steel rails; corporate life, 500 years; capital stock, $300,000; route (about two miles) as follows:

Commencing at the foot of Roosevelt street; thence through, upon and along South street with double tracks to James slip; thence through, upon and along James slip with double tracks to New Chambers street; thence through, upon and along New Chambers street to and across Chatham street with double tracks to Chambers street; thence through, upon and along Chambers street with a single track to West street; thence through, upon and along West street, with a single track to Duane street; thence through, upon and along Duane street with a single track to connect with double tracks at Chatham and New Chambers street - also from their tracks at Roosevelt street and South street, through, upon and along Roosevelt street with a single track, to connect with double tracks at New Chambers street.

Special franchises. By resolution of the Board of Aldermen adopted December 2, 1879, and passed over the mayor's veto December 31, 1879, the Company obtained a franchise for a horse railroad as set forth in its charter, the franchise providing that not more than five cents should be charged for any one passenger and that the Company should keep the space within and between its tracks in repair and good order at its own expense.

It was also provided that the Company should pay into the treasury of the city of New York three per cent of its gross receipts. The corporation counsel, at the time this franchise was granted, held that it was invalid, as the common council did not have the authority to grant franchises.

Construction. No record of any construction. The Company has probably forfeited its corporate existence.

134 Chambers Street Railroad Company

(Manhattan) Incorporation. June 12, 1884; General Street Railroad Law of 1884; for purpose of constructing a street surface railroad; corporate life, 200 years; capital stock, $100,000'; route (about three miles) as follows:

From connections with the ferries at foot of Liberty street; thence northerly along West to Chambers, along Chambers to New Chambers and along Chatham street to connections between Chambers and New Chambers; thence easterly along New Chambers street to James slip, along James slip to ferries at the foot thereof. Also through Cherry street to make connection between New Chambers street and James slip. Also from James slip ferry southerly along South street to Fulton street and continuing to, through and along Burling slip with double track.

Construction. No record of any construction. The Company has probably forfeited its corporate existence.

135 The Chambers Street Rail Road Company of the City of

New York

(Manhattan) Incorporation. January 25, 1877; General Railroad Law of 1850; for purpose of constructing a street surface railroad to be operated by horse power; corporate life, 50 years, from January 15, 1877; capital stock, $30,000; route (about one mile) as follows:

Commencing in South street at or near James slip; thence through James slip to New Chambers street, to Chambers street, to West street, with double track throughout.

Construction. No record of any construction. In the report of the Railroad Commission for 1880, the Company is marked abandoned.

136 Christopher and Tenth Street Rail Road Company

(Manhattan) Incorporation. August 6, 1873; General Railroad Law of 1850; for purpose of constructing a single or double track railroad; corporate life, 1,000 years; capital stock, $6,50,000; the termini of the road, as described in the charter, were to be Christopher Street ferry at the North river, and East 10th Street ferry at the East river.

Commencing at Christopher street ferry, and running thence through and along Christopher street, with a single track to Greenwich avenue; thence through and along Greenwich avenue, with a double track to Sixth avenue; thence across Sixth avenue to Eighth street or Clinton place; thence through and along Eighth street, or Clinton place with a double track, to Astor place, or Eighth street; thence through and along Eighth street with a single track to Avenue A; thence through and along Avenue A with a double track to 10th street; and thence through and along 10th street with a double track to the ferry at the foot of 10th street, East river. Also commencing at Avenue A and Ninth street; thence through and along Ninth street, Stuyvesant street and Astor place with a single track to the double track aforesaid in Eighth street or Astor place. Also commencing at Greenwich avenue and Christopher street thence through and along Greenwich avenue, with a single track, to West 10th street; thence through West 10th street, with a single track, to West street; thence through and along West street, with a single track, to the Christopher street ferry, the place of beginning.

« PreviousContinue »