Page images
PDF
EPUB

September 21, 1898, by a certificate of merger filed in the secretary of state's office, this Company was merged with The Atlantic Avenue Railroad Company of Brooklyn (no. 6).

Construction and operation. The Railroad Commission's inspection report for 1887, refers to this Company's line, and states that “this road is rapidly approaching a physical condition that will place it upon a par with the best maintained lines leading to Coney Island." It is noted that" at Coney Island the old depot is abandoned and one-fourth mile of new road constructed across the salt marsh to the westerly side of the New York and Sea Beach depot, which is now used by this road."

In the Railroad Commission's report for 1889, a statement appears that the double-tracking of this road has been about completed and steel rails substituted for iron throughout.

The inspection report for 1894 states that the road has been changed to the electric trolley system. Trolley cars were first run November 11, 1893. .

67 The Brooklyn, Bergen Beach and Canarsie Railroad

Company

(Brooklyn) Incorporation. May 14, 1893; chapter 565, laws of 1890; for purpose of constructing a street surface railroad to be operated by electric power; corporate life, 50 years; capital stock, $200,000; route (about 19 miles) as follows:

Beginning at the boundary line between town of Flatbush and town of Flatlands at Nostrand avenue; thence along Nostrand avenue to Flatbush avenue, along Flatbush avenue to Avenue I, along Avenue I again to Nostrand avenue; along Nostrand avenue to the boundary line between town of Flatlands and Gravesend; also beginning at Kings highway and the boundary between Flatlands and Gravesend, and thence along Kings highway to Flatbush avenue; also beginning at Brooklyn avenue and boundary between Flatlands and Flatbush, and thence along Brooklyn avenue to Flatbush avenue and along Flatbush avenue to Avenue U; also beginning at Avenue N and the boundary between Flatlands and Gravesend, and thence along Avenue N to the boundary between Flatlands and the city of Brooklyn formerly the town of New Lots, and from the junction of Avenue N and Island avenue, through Island avenue to Avenue U; through Avenue U to East 76th street, and through East 76th street to Avenue X; also beginning at Schenectady avenue and the boundary line between towns of Flatlands and Flatbush, and thence along Schenectady avenue to Flatbush avenue; also beginning at Utica avenue and boundary between Flatlands and Flatbush, and thence along Utica avenue to Flatbush avenue; also beginning at Avenue C and boundary between Flatlands and Flatbush; through Avenue C to Ditmas avenue; through Ditmas avenue to East 93d street; through East 93d street to Denton avenue; through Denton avenue to East 95th street; also through Denton to Remsen avenue, and through Remsen avenue to the boundary between Flatlands and Flatbush; also beginning at the junction of Flatlands avenue and the Rockaway parkway or Rockaway avenue; thence through Flatlands avenue to the boundary between Flatlands and Gravesend. All the above being in the town of Flatlands.

Construction. No record of any construction. The Company has probably forfeited its corporate existence.

68 The Brooklyn Bridge and South Ferry Railroad Company

(Manhattan) Incorporation. October 29, 1887; General Street Railroad Law of 1884; for the purpose of constructing a street surface railroad; corporate life, 1,000 years; capital stock, $100,000; route (about two miles) as follows:

Commencing on Park Row, 100 feet northeast from the corner of Frankfort street, along Park Row to Nassau street, along Nassau street to Broad street, along Broad street to South street, along South street to Whitehall street, and returning along South street to Old slip, along Old slip to and across Hanover square to William street, along William street to Frankfort street, and along Frankfort street to Park Row.

Construction. No record of any construction. The Company has probably forfeited its corporate existence.

69 Brooklyn Bridge and South Shore Railroad Company

(Brooklyn and Queens) Incorporation. March 8, 1886; General Railroad Law of 1850; corporate life, 100 years; capital stock, $1,250,000; route (about 16 miles) as follows:

From a point in the village of Far Rockaway, town of Hempstead, to a connection with the railroad of the Brooklyn Elevated Railroad Company in the town of New Lots.

Construction, No record of any construction. The Company has probably forfeited its corporate existence.

70 The Brookyn Bridge, Prospect Park and Eastern Railroad

Company

(Brooklyn) Incorporation. December 9, 1895; General Railroad Law; for purpose of constructing a street surface railroad to be operated by any other than steam locomotive power; corporate life, 1000 years; capital stock, $500,000; route (about 44.88 miles) as follows:

Commencing at Elizabeth and Richards streets, Brooklyn, along Elizabeth, to Halleck, to Hicks, to Cranberry, to Fulton, across same to High, to Washington; commencing at Cranberry and Fulton streets, along latter to Sands, to Washington, to Nassau; thence from Liberty and Nassau, along latter to Bridge, to Fulton, across same to Hoyt, to Livingston; also commencing at High and Liberty along latter to Fulton, to Court, to Livingston, to Nevins, to Carroll, to Third avenue, to Third street, to Ninth avenue; also commencing at State and Nevins, along former to Flatbush avenue, to Atlantic avenue, to Fifth avenue, to Pacific; also commencing at Pacific and Nevins, along former to Franklin avenue, to Bergen, to Rogers avenue, to Prospect place, to Hopkinson avenue, to St. Marks avenue, to East New York avenue, to Broadway; also commencing at Sixth avenue and Pacific street along former to Greenwood cemetery at or near 23d street; then from Sixth avenue and Prospect avenue, along latter to Greenwood avenue, to East Fourth street, to Avenue C to city line of Brooklyn and town of Flatlands at or near East 54th street; also commencing at Ocean avenue and Malbone street, along latter to Washington avenue, to Classon avenue, to Park avenue, to Grand avenue, to Flushing avenue, to Washington avenue, to Kent avenue; also commencing at Monroe street and Classon avenue, along former to Broadway, across same to Woodbine or Monroe street, along same to city line; commencing at Queens County line at Newtown creek and Manhattan avenue, along latter to Clay, to Franklin, to Dupont, to West, to Calyer, to Leonard, to Driggs avenue, to Ewen street, to Stagg; commencing at Calyer and West, along latter to Quay, to Franklin; also commencing at Calyer and Franklin, along latter to Kent avenue, to North 13th street, to Wythe avenue, to South Eighth street, to Kent avenue; also commencing at North Fifth street and Wythe avenue, along former to Marcy avenue, to Grand street, to Rodney, to South Second, to Union avenue, to Stagg, to Waterbury, to Johnson avenue, to White, to Cook, to Evergreen avenue, Flushing avenue, to Central avenue, to Jefferson; also commencing at Flushing and Cypress avenues, along latter to Jefferson, to Evergreen avenue, to Granite, to Bushwick avenue, to Jamaica plank road, to Broadway and Fulton avenue, and along Gillen place from Jamaica plank road to Bushwick avenue; commencing at Avenue C and Nostrand avenue, along latter to the line between city of Brooklyn and Flatlands at or near Avenue E; also along Nostrand avenue from said line at or near Avenue P to Emmons avenue, to Ocean avenue, to Avenue Z; commencing at Nostrand avenue and Avenue Z, along latter to Harway avenue, to 25th avenue; commencing at Avenue Z, Harway avenue and West 18th avenue, along latter to Surf avenue; commencing at West 18th avenue and Mermaid avenue, along latter to West 45th street. All the foregoing are in the city of Brooklyn. The following are in the town of Flatlands: Commencing at Avenue C at or near East 54th street from boundary dividing the city of Brooklyn and Flatlands, along Avenue C to Remsen avenue, to Avenue N, to East 93d street, to Jamaica bay; commencing on Nostrand avenue at or near Avenue E from the Brooklyn city line, along Nostrand avenue to near Avenue P, Brooklyn city line.

Construction. No record of any construction. The Company has probably forfeited its corporate existence.

71 The Brooklyn, Bushwick and Queens County Railroad

(Brooklyn and Queens) Incorporation. February 11, 1885; by William W. Greene, James W. Elwell and associates as substantially a reorganization of the North Second Street and Middle Village Rail Road Company (no. 525); corporate life, 100 years; capital stock, $100,000; route (about 10 miles) as follows:

Commencing at a point in the city of Brooklyn on First street opposite the ferry at the foot of Broadway, thence through First street to Grand street; thence through Grand street to River street; thence through River street to North First street; thence through North First street from River street to Second street; thence through Second street to North Second street; also on North Second street from where the tracks of the Brooklyn City Railroad in First street are intersected by North Second street, along North Second street to Metropolitan avenue, and along said Metropolitan avenue to Middle Village; also by a branch from the above road to Maspeth and Winfield; also by a branch to the village of Canarsie and from thence to Maspeth.

The North Second Street and Middle Village Rail Road Company on May 1, 1875, mortgaged its property and franchises to James W. Elwell and Richard H. Greene, as trustees (Liber 309 of Mortgages, page 310, county clerk's office of Queens County). A suit was brought by James W. Elwell, sole trustee under the mortgage (Mr. Greene having resigned as trustee) against The North Second Street and Middle Village Rail Road Company for the foreclosure thereof. On a judgment of foreclosure and sale dated September 23, 1884, duly made and entered in the county clerk's office of the county of Queens, September 24, 1884, all the corporate property and franchises of The North Second Street and Middle Village Rail Road Company were sold by the referee on November 11, 1884, to William W. Greene and James W. Elwell, who incorporated this Company, and who by deed, dated January 31, 1885, conveyed the property to it.

Change of motive power. By consent of the commissioners of highways of the town of Newtown, dated April 18, 1891, the Company was authorized to change its motive power to overhead electricity on the following route:

Commencing in Metropolitan avenue and at the city line between the city of Brooklyn and the town of Newtown in Queens County and running thence in, through, along and upon Metropolitan avenue to the Lutheran and St. John's cemeteries, and thence upon Metropolitan avenue to the village of Jamaica in Queens County, New York.

Stock. In the Company's report to the Railroad Commission, 1885, it appears that its entire capital stock had been issued and was outstanding.

Intercorporate relations. (See also chart IV, no. 8.) In the Company's report to the Railroad Commission, 1892, it appears that the railroad was being operated by a receiver, who had been appointed by order of Hon. Edgar M. Cullen, a justice of the Supreme Court, October 29, 1891.

By a decree entered December 23, 1891, at a special term of the Supreme Court, county of Kings, it was ordered that the property of the Company should be sold at public auction to satisfy a foreclosure judgment in favor of Henry D. Donnelly and John Englis, and on May 26, 1892, it was sold to Donnelly and Englis for the sum of $200,000. On August 2, 1892, a deed to the property was executed by Leonidas Dennis, referee, to Donnelly and Englis, as trustees for the holders of certain bonds of this Company, who later and on September 10, 1892, reorganized this Company, as the Broadway Ferry and Metropolitan Avenue Railroad Company (no. 32), to which on September 13, 1892, they conveyed the property.

Construction and operation. This Company paid for the constructed roads it purchased $350,000 in securities. The road was in operation at the time the reorganization was effected. In its report to the Railroad Commission, 1891, it stated that it owned six miles of single track, main line, from Broadway, Brooklyn, to St. John's cemetery, and five miles of second track on main line. The constructed road which this Company owned and operated now constitutes the Metropolitan Avenue line of the Brooklyn, Queens County and Suburban Railroad Company.

72
The Brooklyn Cable Company

(Brooklyn) Incorporation. November 10, 1886; General Railroad Law; corporate life, 100 years; capital stock, $500,000; route (about five miles) as follows:

On Front, Fulton, Water, Washington, Concord, Navy streets; Park avenue, Broadway, Locust, Park and Beaver streets; Bushwick avenue, Jefferson street and Central avenue.

Among the original incorporators of this Company were Tom L. Johnson and Albert L. Johnson, of Cleveland, Ohio, and A. I.

« PreviousContinue »