« PreviousContinue »
NOTE M. Seepage 40. "Order 0/Hermits of St. Augustine." The following deed of endowment of this foundation, A. D. 1517, is preserved in the Collegiate Library of Galway, before referred to.
"Sciant presentes et futuri, quod ego Ricardus Edmundi De Burgo dedi, concessi et hac presenti carta mea confirmavi Ricardo Nongle, sacre pagine professori, ordinis heremitarum Sancti Augustini, ac patri Donato O'Maille priori ejusdemque conventui monasterii nove ville Galvie, ejusdem ordinis Sancti Augustini, eorumque successoribus in dicto monasterio degentibus, de consensu et consilio Reverendissimi in Christo patris ac domini, domini Thome Dei gratia pro tunc archiepiscopi Tuamensis, in puram et perpetuam elemosinam, Ecclesiam meam parochialem de Roskam, Enachdunensis diocesis, cum cimiterio ex parte occidentali muri ejusdem ecclesie, cum quadam particula terre sita prope dictam partem occidentalem, vulgariter nuncupatam Tirnahalle, prout mete et bunde undique docent et proportant, viz. in latitudine usque ad magnos lapides occidentalis partis de Tyrnahalle, et in longitudine a mari superius usque ad murum prope silvam, cum alia magna sacerdotali terra vulgariter nuncupata Gort in tagart, prout mete et bunde undique docent et proportant, per longum et latum prout se extendunt; cum libertate pascuale octo vaccarum et sex cabal 1 t mini, pro anima mea, parentum successorumque meorum: habendum et tenendum predictam ecclesiam cum suo cimiterio, Tyrnahalle et Gort in tagart, cum pascuali libertate predictarum octo vaccarum et sex caballorum, cum omnibus suis emolumentis, obvencionibus et pertinenciis prefatis, dictis priori conventuique prefati novi monasterii, suisque successoribus et assignatis suis, qui pro tempore fuerint, de me, heredibus et successoribus seu assignatis meis, imperpetuum; de capitalibus dominis feodi illius, per servicia ecclesiastics, et ordinis sufiragia recompensando. Et ego vero prefatus Ricardus de Burgo, heredes, executores et successores seu assignati mei, predictam ecclesiam cum suo cimiterio, Tyrnahalle et Gort in tagart cum prefato libertate octo vaccarum et sex caballorum, omnibusque suis pertinenciis prefatis dictis priori et conventui, eorumque successoribus, qui pro tempore fuerint, contra omnes gentes warantizabimus et imperpetuum defendemus. In cujus rei testimonium, huic presenti carte mee, ob defectum sigilli proprii, sigillum domini Henrici Brangan, pro tunc Wardiani ecclesie collegiate ville Galvie, apponi feci. Hiis testibus presentibus, viz. Roberto fusco Lynche, Johanna Martyn ejusdem uxore, Jacobo White, Johanne Mc Kyachra et Memonia Myleyn, et multis aliis. Datum, Galvie, xvii0. die mensis Julii, anno regni Regis Henrici octavi nono, et Domini M.D.XVII.—Et nos Edmundus confirmamus manu propria—Et nos dominus Thomas Tuamensis Metropolitanus, hanc concessionem factam aprobamus, admittimus, et manu nostra propria confirmamus. Thomas Tuamen. M. "Et nos Edmundus confirmamus, manu propria."—Orig.
2 I 2 NOTE
NOTE N. Seepage 41, note h. "Sir Charles Coot:' By letters patent dated 13th May, 1645, SirCharles Coote, knight and baronet, "in consideration of his courage, wisdom and circumspection," was appointed to the office of Lord President of the province of Connaught, "in as full and ample manner as Sir Charles Willmott, late Lord Viscount Willmott of Athlone, the Lord Viscount Ranelagh, or the late Earle of Clanricarde, had or enjoyed the same." To this appointment were annexed certain curious Instructions, which will be found enrolled on " Cromwell's Roll," No. 1, preserved in the Rolls Office, Dublin.
NOTE O. Seepage 42, note '. The following "State letter" affords ample testimony that there were active traitors, within the walls of this devoted town, during the siege:
"DuUin Castle, 2(A May 1656. "Gent.
"The Council having, of late, received large testimony of the singular good services performed by Mr. Dominick Bodkin, Mr. Nicholas Oge French, and Richard Kircan (inhabitants of the towne of Galway) for and in behaulfe of the English interest during the late Rebellion, not a little conducinge (as we are informed) to the advantage of the state, though (tis probable) they had, by such their ample testifieing of their affeccions to the English, prejudiced their private interests, and contracted a malice (from those of their own naccon, among whom they are now to live) which may prove dangerous to them. Their lordships have therefore thought fitt, hereby to recommend the consideration of their meritts unto you, that finding the same to bee as hath been alledged, you may in your proceedings (in the determining of their respective qualifications and claymes) afforde them what convenient dispatch you may, with such just and reasonable favour, as may be conceived meete and agreeable to your instructions for a reward and encouragement of well doing. Yours Tho. Herbert To the Commissioners for adjusting the claymes of the Irish, at Athlone."—Original Privy Council Book, A.D. 1656.
These men were, accordingly, well recompensed for their "singular good services." Thomas Lynch Fitz-Ambrose, Matthew Browne, and Lieutenant Charles Browne, also received ample rewards.—Hist. Galway, Append. VII.; and one Julian Browne, who performed the part of Rahab on the occasion, also received her reward.
NOTE P. See page 43, note d. "Lough Lurgan, the Bay of Galway.''
In our author's Ogyg. p. 164, an old Irish poem is quoted for the "three most ancient lakes of Ireland;" one being Lough Lurgan, the present bay of Galway. This
poem poem, which begins, "Goaiti aeaip ppue aP r''110^" Adam, father, stream of our hosts," has by some been attributed to iEngus Ceile De, who flourished about A. D. 800; and by others to iEngus Roe O'Daly, who died in A. D. 1350. See O'Reilly's Irish Writers, p. 97. But our author in the passage referred to says, that in place of Laugh Lurgan, another antiquary has Lough Lumny, a lake in Desmond (for which see Keating's Hist., lib. i.); and adds "iste lacus longo post tempore legitur prorupisse," for which he refers to the Book of Lecan, fo. 284. He then hazards a conjecture respecting Lough Lurgan, viz. that, perhaps, it was formerly separated, by land, from the sea," "qui quondam fortasse firma terra a salo discretus, donee," &c, until the Western Ocean overcame the barrier, of which the three islands of Aran seem to be the remnant. This conjecture was probable, and the situation and appearance of those islands, with respect to the main land, would seem to support it, but no such circumstance is recorded; notwithstanding which, the writer, in Hist. Galway, pp. 4, 319, has incautiously asserted, that the separation alluded to had been actually mentioned by our ancient annalists. But he has since ascertained that such is not the fact; and therefore, whether Lough Lurgan, or the bay of Galway, had at any period of time been separated from the ocean, must ever remain matter of conjecture, for history is entirely silent on the subject.
The mountains of Burren, in the north of the County of Clare, shelter this bay on the south, as far as Black Head, called in Irish Ceann 66ipne, i. e. the head of Burren. Towards the east of Burren, near an arm of the bay, and south of Galway town, are the ruins of Corcumroe abbey (Corcumdhruadh), for which see Archdall's ■ Monasticon, p. 44. It was so called, because, when built, A. D. 1194, the territory of Corcumroe comprehended the present barony of Burren. It was also called the "Abbey of Burren." See the Annals of Innisfallen, at A. D. 1267, which state, that Connor na Sudaine O'Brien, Prince of Thomond, was interred in the " Abbey of the East of Burren." Also in Cathreim Toirdhealbhaigh, or the "Wars of Thomond,"' compiled AD. 1318, it is stated, that he was interred in the " Monastery of East Burren" and that the monks raised a monument over his remains—" Gjup Do h-ablacao u mainipoep oiprip fioipne 50 h-uapol onopac 6, ajj na mancuib, ajup 00 eojbaoop a lia op a lui&e." Dutton, in his Statist. Survey of the County of Clare, p. 325, note, states that " Some giddy young gentlemen amused themselves with mutilating some part of this ancient monument." Several acts of a similar nature have been recorded, during the last three centuries, in Ireland.
Near this is the island of Muckinish, TTIuicinip, containing the ruins of two old castles, which formerly belonged to the O'Loughlins, chieftains of Burren. One of these castles, called Shan-Muckinish or Ballynacregga, has been lately repaired, and is now
in good preservation. The other, Muckinish Noe, or New Muckinish, lies a little to the east of Ballynacregga, and close to the shore of Pouldoody bay, so well known for its extensive oyster beds. This castle is now in ruins. In A. D. 1585, Uaithne or Owny O'Loughlin of the castle oiGregant, otherwise "the O'Loughlin," was chief of his name. From this castle the district of Burren was originally called the Barony ofGregans. See the Division of Connaught, A. D. 1586, in Brit. Museum. Cotton, Titus B. xiii. fo. 399. Charles O'Loughlin, Esq. of Newtown Castle, in the parish of Drumcreehy, is now "chief of his name;" or, as he is commonly called in the district, "King of Burren." See the Annals of the Four Masters, at A. D. 1584, for an account of the capture of Torlogh O'Loughlin, on Muic-inis, and of his having been put to death at Ennis, by Captain Brabazon; and the same Annals, at A. D. 1582, for this captain's services against the Irish of Mayo, where " he destroyed the whole territory." These " services" are not noticed in the "Genealogical History of the Family of Brabazon," printed at Paris, 4to. A. D. 1825.
A little to the west of the abbey of Corcomroe, near the "New Quay," lies Finvarra, in Irish pionai j Beapa, a rising little town, which may be seen from the opposite or north side of the bay. Near it is a monument, erected to Donogh More O'Daly, a famous Irish poet. "In this district formerly lived the O'Dalys, a celebrated bardic family, several of whom first came to the county of Galway in the time of Teige Roe O'Kelly, on his marriage with Ranalt O'Brien. In A. D. 1514, Teige O'Daly, professor of poetry, who maintained a house of general hospitality, died at Finvarra,
and was interred in the monastery of Corcomroe Four Masters. A short djfetance
south of Finvarra point, on the shore of the bay, lie the scattered fragments of the old castle of 6aile in bheacam (now called Ballyvaughan), taken by Sir Henry Sidney on his route from Limerick to Galway, in AD. 1569.—Four Masters. Westward, between this and Black Head, Ceann boipne, are the ruins of 5l-ear,n C'oneac, Glaniny. Both these last-mentioned castles are noticed in the MS. in the British Museum, Titus B. xiii., already referred to. The coast to the westward from Glaniny Castle to Black Head is steep, and is the only place of shelter for men-of-war within
Galway Bay See Nimmo's Piloting Directions, p. 171, for a description of the north
and south shores and inlets of this extensive bay.
NOTE Q. Seepage 45, note*. "Joyce Country—The Shoyes."
Joyce Country, in Irish Duthaidk Seoigheoch, i. e. the district or inheritance of the Shoyes or Joyces, is the name by which the mountainous barony of Ross, in Iar- Connaught, is still frequently called. See the "Genealogies, Tribes, and Customs of Hy-Fiachrach," published by the Irish Archasological Society, A. D. 1844, p. 324,
where where the Seoaigh or Joyces of West Connaught, "Seoaij lapraip Chonnacc," are enumerated among the Welsh tribes, who, according to that authority, came to Ireland in the time of Dermod Mac Murrogh, King of Leinster. But these tribes did not settle in the western parts of Ireland until the century after. The Shoyes or Joyces settled in the district of Partry, west of Lough Mask, under the O'Flaherties, about the middle of the thirteenth century; although the O'Flaherties themselves had no jurisdiction there, or any where west of Lough Corrib, until after A. D. 1235: "The Joyes depended upon the O'Flaherties, and were always contributory with (to) them, and did usually yield them risings out."—Inquis. A. D. 1607, quoted in Hist. Gal way, p. 100. A paper in the British Museum, "On the present State of Connaught," signed Corners Clifford, and others, about A. D. 1596, states: "The Joies are followers to the O'Flaherties, and depend much upon Sleight Ulicke Bourke." On this passage there occurs the following marginal note, made, as I conjecture, by Sir Richard Bingham, Governor of Connaught: "Theis are still in action of rebellion.''—Titus, B. xii. The name of this tribe has undergone various orthographical changes to reduce it to an Anglicised form. Thus we find it written, Yoes, Joes, Joas, Jose, Josse, Joy, Joyes, Joyce*.— A. D. 1501, William Shioy or Joy, was archbishop of Tuam, Ware; 1507, William Josse, bailiff of Gal way; 1542, Henry Jose, Mayor there; 1629, Andrew Joes, merchant there.—Annals. As a curious instance of the prejudice of the " old English" inhabitants of that town against the "mere Irish," it has been observed that none of the O'Flaherties ever held, or would be suffered to hold, any office therein, because they were of the mere Irish; but their followers, the Joyces, were admitted to every civic employment, because they were of British extraction.
In the Records of the Herald's Office, Dublin, vol. x., there appears a pedigree or genealogical account of the Joyces, professionally compiled by "Daniel Molyneux, King at Arms in the Kingdom of Ireland," for a Mr. Gregory Joyes, who died at Madrid, A. D. 1745. Although this pedigree is stated to have been compiled "ex antiquis monumentis, approved of by said Daniel Molyneux, Father Francis Browne, of the order of St. Francis" [certainly a learned man, for whom see Ogyg. p. 30], "who was well versed in the genealogy of the families of Galway, and Peter Albert de Launay, first King at Arms in Belgium" yet it is mostly fabulous, and bears internal evidence of gross fabrication. Its exordium, and a few of the early generations, may suffice to shew what value should be attached to that document.
» It may still be traced in "Tillers Saint Josse," and "Josse-Sur-Mer," in that part of France an
ciently called Armoric Gaul.