Page images
PDF
EPUB

was ever

sen.

was unable to visit the country any considerable distance, but preached in private houses around his own dwelling and in Danville. During the following summer a house of worship was built for him in Danville, the first in the state-and a church organized, as has been already stated in his Memoirs.

On the 4th of June (the birth-day of George III.) Mr. Rice preached the first sermon which preached on Salt river. It was a funeral discourse, occasioned by the death of the wife of James M'Coun,

It was delivered on the bank of the river, near his house, where she was buried. He returned to the fort next day, and, as his custom was, catechised as m?.. ny as had turned their attention to religious matters. The next day being Sabbath, June 6th, he preached his second sermon in that region in a large double hewed log house at the Station.

Early in the spring of 1785, twelve men* met, by ap pointment, on a branch of Salt river, near the place where the present New-Providence church now stands, to agree on a place to erect a house for the double purpose

of a school house and a place of worship. Two places were offered, with two acres of ground annexed to each. One by James M'Afee, and the other, a mile farther down the river, close by an elegant spring, by James M'Coun. After free consultation and debate, the former was accepted, 7 to 5, and soon after their corn was planted, they erected a log cabin, 20 by 18, on the spot selected.

* Eleven of these were James, George, Samuel and Rob. ert M'Afee, Jobn and William Armstrong, James M'Loun, sen, and James M'Coup, jun. Joseph Lyon, J. Buchagnap, and John M'Gee.

Here Mr. Rice preached once a month for several years, and in these days it was a uniforan practice for all the male inhabitants to carry their guns with them to meeting, to guard themselves and the congregation from the Indians while they listened to this man of God preaching to them the word of life. It was to preserve the remembrance of many signal favours and provideñ. tial deliverances from the hand of a savage foe, that the church when it was organized assumed the name of New-Providence.

The congregation having increased, a new house was found necessary. This was accomplished in 1790. It was built of hewed logs, of two lengths, united at the middle by gutter posts, and in 1803, it was found necessary to enlarge it still farther by taking out one of the sides. The present building is of brick, 60 by 45, substantially built, and handsomely and commodiously finished.

The first regular pastor of New-Providence church was a Mr. Mahon, from Virginia. His conduct and character turning out to be not according to the gospel of Christ, his connection with them was dissolved by Presbytery, Oct. 5th, 1798. Previous, however, to this event, the congregation had also suffered severely by the unhappy controversy about Psalmody already referred to in our Sketch of the Associate Reformed Church, Nearly the one half of the congregation on the occasion declared for Mr. Rankin.

In 1784, a house of worship was erected, and a church organized at Cane Run, on the land of captain

John Haggin, tbree miles east of Harrodsburgh. Here Mr. Rice preached regularly until he moved to Green. In 1801 the congregation of Cane Run united with NewProvidence congregation in obtaining the ministerial services of Rev. Samuel B. Robertson. This connexion continued with some success and harmony until the 10th of April, 1911, when Mr. Robertson's pastoral connexion with them was dissolved by mutual consent, and he removed to Columbia, Adair county.

In April, 1813, the Rev, Thomas Cleland, from Washington county, commenced his ministerial labours in these united congregations, and was installed their regular pastor the Oct. following. He found them in a languishing condition. The New Light doctrines and schism had injured them much. The house at Cane Run was much decayed, and needed considerable repairs, or a new one to be built. It was moreover surrounded by farms, and somewhat difficult of access, and no title had been obtained for the site, nor would the proprietor consent to give any. It was also out of the centre of the bulk of the people who usually attendeid, These and similar reasons suggested the propriety of making Harrodsburgh, the county town, the place of meeting, and changing also the name of the congrega tion.

The first house which they occupied in Harrods burgh was built by them and others upon the Republi can plan, and was to serve the double purpose of i meeting house and a seminary. Many inconveniences were soon found to be inseparably connected with all the arrangements. They were, however, all removed

at the end of twelve or eighteen months, when the building was levelled with the ground by a hurricane. The congregation then made a bold and rapid attempt to build a house of worship exclusively for their own use. This they accomplished in 1819 or 20, and they have now a handsome and convenient brick building 70 by 45 feet.

The body of both congregations can attend pretty regularly at either house of worship. The ministry is supported by an assessment on the pews. The communicants in the two churches are something more than 200, and have doubled during the last ten years. Their present pastor lives in great harmony with his people -hopes that he is useful in promoting their edification in faith and love, and believes that he shares largely of their confidence and esteem. May they long continue to be blessings to one another, and blessings in the midst of the land. And when they shall be individually called hence, may their children and their children's children rise up and fill their place, so that when our Lord shall come, and all his saints with him, he may find the church of New-Providence not only existing, but fourishing, and the members of it ready to join their fathers and their fathers' fathers, when their sleeping dust shall be awakened-and the whole of the godly of Salt river, of Mercer county, and o New Providence, by whatever name they may have been called, shall be caught up to meet their Lord in the air,

And if there are any of our readers disposed to consider some of the details in the above article as pot of much importance, we would require soch to review them

again, in view of this last and important event. The building of houses of worship, and the having comfortable houses of worship, are intimately connected with the eternal salvation of many an immortal. And he who builds, or who cootributes to the building, of a house of worship, may, when our Lord and Judge shall make his appearance, be found to have performed a more important service to his fellow men, than he who built and adorned Babylon or Ninevah did.

No. 6,

SKETCH OF THE ORIGIN, PROGRESS, AND

PRESENT STATE OF THE CHURCHES IN LEXINGTON.

ABOUT the 1st of April, 1779, a block house was built by Colonel Robert Paterson, and a few others, where Lexington now stands. In the autumn of that year, Major John Morrison moved his family from Harrodsburgh.

Mrs. Morrison was the first white woman that was in Lexington, and her son, who was after. wards killed at Dudley's defeat in 18 was the first white child that was born there,

In Nov. 1780, the county of Kentucky was made a district, and divided into three counties,-all north of the Kentucky river being one county, of which Lexing

« PreviousContinue »