« PreviousContinue »
Scriptural Psalmody, in opposition to Psalms and Hymns of human composition, and of human authority.
In May, 1793, Mr. Rankin and his adherents were, on their application to the Synod which met in Philadelphia, received into the communion of the Associate Reformed Church, and ministerial aid was from that time till 1818, occasionally sent them.
In 1802 there were three settled ministers of the Associate Reformed Church in Kentucky, who formed a Presbytery, called the Associate Reformed Presbytery of Kentucky. They had 6 or 8 congregations, which were considered under regular pastoral inspection, and about an equal number of vacancies, which were visited twice or thrice in the year. The number of communicants were at that time said to be about 500."
In 1812 there were five settled ministers having the pastoral inspection of eight congregations. Number of communicants in these eight congregations, 387.- Va. cancies, eight-supposed number of communicants in these, 250.--Total in communion, 687.
In 1814 father Rankin was again charged before his Presbytery with having been in the habit of slandering his brethren, and also with having imposed upon the Associate Reformed Church, when he and his people were admitted into the communion of that body. The last charge was never tried. The first was, after a great many delays and discussions, finally decided by a Commission of the General Synod of the Associate Reformed Church, in these words:
“Their decision on the whole of the premises is—That the Rev, Adam Rankin, convicted before them of lying and slandering his brethren, is a scandalous person, and ought not to continue in the exercise of the christian ministry; and they accordingly did, and hereby do, in the name and by the authority of the Lord Jesus Christ, the only King and Head of the Church, suspend him, the said A. Rankin, from the office of the gospel ministry, forbidding him all and every one of the proper acts thereof until he be lawfully restored thereto.
Done at Lexington, state of Kentucky, this 17th day of Sept. A. D. 1818. J. M. MASON,
Gen. Synod. (SILAS E. WIER,
Several years before the passing of this sentence, all the societies which had been organized by Mr. Rankid, in the beginning of his career, were, from a variety of of causes, in a state of dissolution. Since that time they can be scarcely said to have had any existence.
THE ASSOCIATE CHURCH OF KENTUCKY.
Sometime in the year 1795 or 96, two or three individuals in Kentucky, originally from Scotland, addressed a petition to the General Synod of the Associa ate Church in Edinburgh, stating the destitute situation of Kentucky with respect to the enjoyment of gospel ordinances, and praying Synod to send them ministerial aid. As an answer to the petition, Messrs. Robert Armstrong, and Andrew Fulton, licentiates, were ordained to the office of the holy ministry in Scotland, and were directed to proceed to Kentucky, and there constitute themselves into a Presbytery, and take under their pastoral inspection what churches they could organize in that distant and supposed heathen land.
These brethren arrived in Kentucky in March 1798, and found a considerable portion of the adherents of Mr. Rankin ready to renounce all connexion with him, and put themselves under the government of the Associate Church.
Mr. Armstrong settled in Scott county, and had three respectable congregations, viz: two in Scott and one in Fayette. In 1802 or 3, a plan was formed, that these congregations should move in a body into the state
of Ohio, where they might, free from the evils of slavery, and in a more compact situation, enjoy the ordinances of the gospel to greater'advantage than they had been able to do in Kentucky. This plan was in the course of a year or 18 months happily executed, by their obtaining a settlement in the county of Green, state of Obio, on the head waters of the Little Miami.
Mr. Fulton settled in Henry county, and had three small congregations in Henry, Shelby, and Jefferson. He also, with a considerable portion of his people in * 1810 or 12, crossed the Ohio, and settled in the state of Indiana.
Both these servants of the Redeemer are now called home. They were learned and pious men, and lived and died at their work. Their labour was not lost. The congregations which they collected, and organized, and watched over, remain, and are again fornished with other pastors.
FIRST SETTLEMENT ON SALT RIVER-ORI
GIN AND PRESENT STATE OF NEW-PROVI. DENCE AND HARRODSBURGH CHURCHES. -(Facts furnished by Rev. Thomas CLELAND.)
On the 10th of May, 1773, Joseph M'Afee, George M'Afee, Robert M'Afee, James M'Coun, and James and Samuel Adams, lest their place of residence, Bottetout county, the then colony of Virginia, to explore the western country, now called Kentucky. They fell in company with Thomas Bullit and Hancock Taylor, two surveyors, who were about to descend the Ohio, to survey the proclamation warrant of 1763. The M'Afee company, with the aforesaid Taylor, made the first survey ever made on the Kentucky river, and which is the tract on which Frankfort now stands. It was made 16th July, 1773, and on Wednesday 28th of the same month, they made the survey for James M'Afee, on which he afterwards resided till bis death. And on this tract the church of New-Providence now stands.
The M'Afee company returbing to their native home, a variety of circumstances; but principally British and Indian hostilities, prevented them froin moving with their families as soon as they had contemplated. At last, however, on the 17th of August, 1779, they, with several other families and individuals, left the settlement in Virginia, and arrived on the 1st of October following on Salt river, where they formed a station known ong after, and even to this day, as M'Afee's Station: At this place and on their adjoining farms they resided alternately for years, as they were obliged or permitted by the movements of the Jodiang with whom they had frequent conflicts with occasional loss of lives and property. But divinė providence intérposed in their behalf, so that they finally triumphed.
The neighbourhood became strengthened by the aco cession of others to the original company. Hav: ing enjoyed a religious education, and the most of the heads of families having been actual members of the churches from which they bad emigrated, a desire to enjoy the ordinances of the gospel was pretty prevalent
But no minister of the gospel had yet visited them:
It was in the month of Oct. 1783, that Mr. Riće arrived with his family at Mrs. M'Brides, on the waters of Dick's river, a few miles south east of Harrodsburgh. Ile afterwards purchased land and settled on Harrod's ruri
, nearer Danville, at the place now occupied by Edward Worthington; Esq: Winter soon setting in, he