Page images
PDF
EPUB

St.

[ocr errors]

Königsberg, which the Swedes destroyed after they Hotels: De l'Ange (Angel); Des Deux Clefs took this town, in the thirty years' war, 1632. (Two Keys); Des Trois Rois (Three Kings.) It was built by the Frankish kings, and became

Population, 21,350. Chief town of late departe an imperial fief, being held by knights, who were

ment Haut-Rhin, in a fine plain half-way between half robbers and half tyrants.

the Vosges and the river Rhine, or the river Lauch, St. Hippolyte Station (34 miles), is the 1} mile from the Ill. It is not far from the site nearest station for Königsberg castle, and also of the Roman Argentoväria; it was an imperial Frankenberg, another picturesque ruin, burnt 1582. free city, given up to France, by the treaty of It belonged to the bishops of Strasburg.

Westphalia, 1648, when the fortifications were Ribeauville Station (2} miles), or Rappoltz- razed, and now re-annexed to Germany. There veiler in German, among vineyards, in a pretty

are three gates, many narrow streets and old valley, under the heights covered by the old castles houses, with good walks on the Champ de Mars, of Rappoltstein, Giersberg, and St. Ulrich. and in the ancient pepinière, as well as in the Gregoire's church has several ancient tombs; the orangery, and the cemetery of Horburg (2 kil off). Hotel de ville is good. Population, 7, 340. In the

It is watered by the branches of the river and the neighbourhood are remains of the chapel, Nôtre canals of the Fecht. Dame of Dusenbach, and a famous cyclopean wall

The Minster, built 1363, is a large Gothic build, (on the sides of the Vosges), called the Heiden

ing with a tower about 300 (?) feet high, and an mauer, or Heathen's wall. The vast blocks of

alter-piece on wood, by Schön. Its tower commands which it was composed, are traced for 5 or 6 miles.

a view of above 800 places in Alsace and Baden, Near Baroche, to the south, is Hohenach castle,

&c. The Jesuit church was built, 1750; the fine the tower of which commands one of the most

nave of the Dominican church is now the beautiful views in this interesting country. [At 18 kil. east-south-east, is

Schöngauer Society's, and the old Protestant

church is a store-house MARCHOLSHEIM, near the Rhine, with bleachground and tobacco factories. Population, 2,600.]

Other objects of notice are the ancient Maison

de Ville, the préfect's hotel. Here also is the Ostheim Station (2 miles). Population, 1,700.

head (as well as the sword which cut it off) of [At RIQUEWIHR (7 miles west), among vineyards, Hagenbach, Charles the Bold's governor, who on the Sempach, is the old castle of Reichenstein, figures in "Anne of Geierstein;" the hospital dismantled 1209. A little south of it, on the

the vast maison d'arrêt (prison), large cavalry Weiss, is the old imperial castle of Kaiserberg, barracks, and public slaughter-house (abattoir); built in the thirteenth century, by Fredk. Bar

the college contains the bibliothèque of 40,000 barossa, whose statue is in the village. The ruins

vols., besides rare MSS., and a museum of paintof Alspach abbey are near this; and higher up the

ings by Schön, A. Durer, &c. stream are the fine ruins of Hoh Landsberg, and Plixburg.]

In the neighbourhood, are the large factories Bennwihr Station (2} miles). Coaches to of MM., Hauseman, Hersog, &c, At MÜNSTER Tigolsheim, Kintzheim, Kaiserberg, Orbey, La (20 kil. to the west-south-west), in the busy valley Poutroye. Orbey is under a mountain, on which of that name, is M. Hartmann's factory, near the are the White and Black Lakes; each about 3 miles old castle of Schwarzenburg. Generals Rapp, in circuit. White Lake, shut in by granite walls, and Rewbel, who was one of the Directory, were is the source of the Weiss. Hereabouts is the natives of Munster. MM. Schaller, Heintz, &c., highest part of the Vosges chain

are Protestant pastors here. Munster had an At 24 miles further is

abbey, the last head of which embraced Pro.

testantism, în 1536. In this quarter are WintzenCOLMAR Station.

heim, under Hoh Landsberg Castle; and TurckA buffet, 894 miles from Strasburg; 464 from Basle. I heim, once an imperial hef, now noted for its red

winds. Here Turenné gained a victory over the Dornach Station (i mile). Here is the large Imperialists, 1675, with the assistance of English factory of Dolfus & Co. Pop., 3,000. And then 25 troops, lent by Charles II.

miles to Colmar has large manufacturers of cotton, linens, MULHOUSE, or Muhlhausen, Station, ribbons, powder, &c.; and a trade in wine, grain, 69 miles from Strasburg, 304 from Paris (via the &c. Conveyances by branch rail to Münster; new route through Belfort, Troyès, &c.) There is coach to Breisach, thence to Freiburg and Black

a buffet at the station. Forest, Freibourg in Baden, &c. A road leads

Hotels : Romann, kept by Messrs. Romann down to a disused custom-house and ferry on the Brothers : newly refurnished, very good house. Rhine, near Fort Mortier, and the citadel of Neu

A town of 29,580 souls, and a great seat of Breisach, built by Vauban on the Rhine canal, and manufactures, such as cotton prints, turkey red, taken by the Germans 10th November, 1870. wollen, worsteds, muslins, yarn, silk, steam

From Colmar, on the way to Bâle, you pass engines, spinning machines, locomotives, &c. It

Eguisheim Station (58 miles), which has a was an imperial city from 1268 till 1515, when it strong six-sided tower left of an ancient château,

became a Swiss republic, was joined to France, the birth-place of Leo IX. Pop., 2,130. Here also 1798, and is now annexed to Germany It stands are the Drei Exen, or three towers of another castle partly on an island of the Ill, and on the Rhine which belonged to the imperial house.

and Rhône canal, and is generally well built, with Herrlisheim Station (14 mile). A modern

some old houses. The new quarter was begun

1828. There are Catholic and Reformed churches, château on the site of the old castle-once a nest of robbers. The ancient church of Gueberschiwihr

a synagogue, Hôtel de Ville, the oldest of its public is seen beyond this station. It has a Norman buildings, college, hospital, cabinets of natural tower with pent-house roof.

history, &c., bibliothèque, various public walks,

and a chamber of commerce, council of prud Rouffach Station (4 miles), on the Lauch, 'hommes (joint committee of masters and workmen) with an old Gothic church and remains of Isen

and many factories, one of the largest and oldest bourg castle, formerly a seat of the Merovingian being that of Köchlin Brothers. kings. Marshal Lefebvre was born here. At Judenfeld, many Jews were executed; and they Rhine, has one of the most remarkable churches in

[OTTMARSHEIM (15 kil. east-north-east), on the say that no Jew will live there to this day. Pop., this part. It is eight-sided, and is believed to be 3,630. Coach to Soultzmatt.

the remains of a Lombard basilica). Merxheim Station (3 miles), to the southwest of which is Ballon de Guebwiller, the highest manufactures of paper hangings. Population, 2,970.

Rixheim Station (3 miles), which has large of the Vosges range (4,700 above the level of the sei). Then

Habsheim Station (i mile). Bollwiller Station (41 miles), in a wine

Sirentz Station (6 miles). district. Coach to SOULTZ (pop., 4,000, and a

Bartenheim Station (1 miles). handsome spire church), and branch rail to St. Louis Station (5 miles), on the Sroiss FronGebwiller, another spinning place, which has tier, where baggage is searched. (near some abbey ruins) a fine Norman church with [On the Strasburg and Basle railway, after St. three spires. Here the ascent to the Ballon may | Louis, to the right, near the Rhine, is HUNINGUE, be made (the view takes in part of Switzerland), which had, on a rock, one of Vauban's fortresses descending to the interesting valley of St. Amarin before 1815, when it was taken by the Austrians. in which is a castle, a large factory for Indiennes, It contains a good church, barracks, &c., and a &c., and a way to Thann.

monument to General Abattucci. Pop., 2,003]. Wittelsheim Station (31 miles).

At 2 miles further is Lutterbach Station (41 miles), where the BASLE, in SWITZERLAND (see BRADSHAW's Handbranch to Thann turns off, as below.

Book to Switzerland).

(a) From Lutterbach, as above, a branch rail- In the Franco-German war of 1870-71, Metz made way goes off through

an important figure. The Emperor Napoleon arCernay (4} miles), a sweet spot (population,

rived here 28th July, issued a proclamation to his 4,600), near the sterile tract of Ochsenfeld, to

army, and marched to the frontier, where Saar

brück was taken 2nd August, in presence of the Thann (31 miles), a town of 5,960 cotton printers,

Prince Imperial. Mac Mahon being defeated at &c., on the Thur, at the entrance of St. Amarin's

Weissenburg and Woerth, the French under Bazvalley, under one of the Vosges hills, which has

aine, retreated towards Metz and Chalons, pursued remains of Engelbourg castle on it. It contains

by the Germans, who obtaind two great victories several ancient houses, and St. Thibault's fine

over them on the 16th August, at Mars-la-Tour, cathedral-like church, with a sculptured doorway,

or Vionville, and on 18th, at Gravelotte, or Rezonand a steeple 328 feet high, built 1516. Vin de

ville, all places within a few miles of Metz. FindRang is produced here.

ing it impossible to cut through the German forces, ROUTE C.

Bazaine retired into Metz, which was completely

invested by 23rd August. On 1st September (the Metz to Forbach and Mannheim.

day before Sedan), he was repulsed in a great For the first part of this Route from Nancy, sortie; and again on the 7th October. Finally he see BRADSHAW's Hand-Book to France.

capitulated on the 27th October, when three marMETZ STATION,

shals (Bazaine, Canrobert, and Lebæuf), with

thousands of officers, and 170,000 men (20,000 being 25 miles from Nancy, 100 miles from Mannheim.

sick and wounded) laid down their arms and were Hotels.-Hotel de l'Europe, a first-rate hotel for

transported as prisoners to Germany. The German families and gentlemen. Table d'Hôte, 4 fr.

forces entered the town 31st October, and it is now Grand Hotel de Metz, an excellent hotel, com- annexed to the Rhine Provinces by .treaty of bining every kind of comfort with reasonable

1st March, 1871. A semi-circular connecting line prices—recommended.

of rail was made by the Germans during the The buffet at the station, which is half a mile investment; and the fortifications have been from the town, is good. Omnibuses and other strengthened. vehicles convey passengers to the hotels.

Several quays line the rivers which are crossed Pop., 57,713. Chief town of German Lorraine

by as many as seventeen Bridges--as the Pont des (late department Moselle), a first-class fortress,

Morts, &c., some being very short and old-fashioned, head-quarters of a military division, seat of a

with water-mills upon them. The Places Napoléon, bishopric, &c., in a flattish spot on a bend of the

de la Comédie, and Moselle, are the best squares. Moselle, where the Seille joins it at the old three

In Place Ste. Croix is the old Church of the Trinity, arch bridge of Pont des Bas Grilles. It was the

now the Protestant Temple. Most of the streets capital of the Mediomatrici in Roman times

are narrow and dirty; the houses are chiefly of (whence comes the present name), and of Austrasie

stone, two or three storeys high, and some curiously under Clovis. Afterwards it was held sometimes

carved, especially in Place St. Louis. by the French and sometimes by the German Emperors, annexed to France in spite of a long The noble Cathedral, in Place d'Armes, with its siege by Charles V., in 1522, and strongly fortified flying buttresses, &c., was begun in 1014, by Bishop with works by Vauban and Cormontaigne, includ- Thierri, but not finished till 1546. It is pierced ing the Double Couronne, and Belle Croix Forts, with a great number of windows-many beautifully built 1728-31. One of its nine Gates, Porte St. stained, by Busch, 1526. Its length is 393 feet; Thiébaut, leads on the Esplanade, near the citadel, width of nave 51 feet (of the transepts, 46 feet): which is laid out with walks and trees, and com- the two side chapels of the choir are 53 feet by 50 mands a fine prospect of the river and country, while the Gothic spire, built in 1427, is just a with its vineyards and woodland.

high as the church is long, and carries au i

[ocr errors]

nce of the

letz. Fisk

is and

Metz madi monso bell, called La Matte, woighing about on Place Napoloon; Generals Kellerman, Custines, poleon ar 28,600 lbs. The very old font is called Cuve de and Lallemand; Bouchette, who was war minister ion to his César (Cæsar's Tub). Several councils were held under the convention; Barbé Marbois, one of here Sa here between 590 and 1280.

Napoleon's ministers; La Vaillant, the naturalist; Four or five other churches are of old date. Raspail, the chemist; and Mademoiselle Tastu, defeated : That of St. Martin offers a variety of styles, from the

the poetess. under Bu oarliest down to that of the sixteenth century. One Manufactures of leather, cotton, linen, woollen1113, pursus of the Knights Templars' round churches is in the cloth, muslin, nails, stained papers, &c.; trade in at victorie large Arsenal, which stands on the site of an abbey these, and wines, eau-de-vie, excellent beer and s-la-Tow of the tenth century, and contains, besides 80,000 comfitures, drugs, spices, &c. e, or Rew stand of arms, &c., a famous bronze culverin, taken Conveyances to Siarck Boulay, and Verdun by

at Ehrenbreitstein, 154 feet long, 17 inches wide at rail to Thionville. A direct rail is in progress to rmanlari the muzzle; it weighs 28,717 lbs., and the shot is Verdun, by way of Amanvillers. Omnibuses to contplete 1761 lbs. A Military School, for young officers, is the pretty village of Moulins. In the neighbour:ember 1 attached to the Arsenal (once part of St. Arnold's hood of Metz are also the rock of Roche-Rudotte, in a great abbey), with a military library of 10,000 vols., in the valley of Mance; the Château of MontignyFinalik besides charts, maps, and MS. treatises. The hotel | les-Metz; the cascade on the Digne of Wadrineau, shree Bill of the Regimental School of Artillery is a handsome Gravelotte, as above mentioned, &c. ru?, * building, completed in 1852. There are also ex

[Etain (40 kil. west-north-west), on the Ornes, in 2000 De tensive barracks, magazines (that for bedding is the the middle of the fertile plain of Voëvre, which

Abbey of Clement, built in the sixteenth century by belonged to St. Euchane's Abbey at Triêves, in the the German Italian architect): and a military hospital-the seventh century, and was given up to the Duke of id it is latter an immense building, begun by Louis XV., Lorraine by the peace of Ryswick, 1697. It has . treaty large enough for 1,500 patients, and which would a good Hôtel de Ville. About 18 kil. west-southFecting accommodate 1,800. The Palace de Justice (once the west of it is Verdun.] Hotel de l'Intendance, begun it is said by a Duke of From Metz, on the railway to Forbach (towards extensive structure,

near the Dare beste Suffolk), is an

Frankfort) you pass esplanade and the river. The old church of Petits Peltre Station (41 miles), which was for a timo Carmes contains the museum and the public library the head-quarters of the allied powers in 1815. of 30,000 volumes (many of them early printed

Courcelles Station (41 miles), or Courcellesbooks) besides 800 MSS. The Hôtel de Ville, a

less-Chaussy, on the Nied. Here the Germans won simple but good building, was finished 1771, from

the battle of Pange, 14th August, 1870. the designs of Blondel. It has some portraits. Other buildings are the new Préfecture, the Hôtel

Remilly Station (5 miles), has a pinnacled

church. de Monnaies (mint), the college, and priests' semi

Herny Station (41 miles). both large edifices; theatre, &c. The covered nary, market was begun for the archbishop's palace in

Faulquemont Station (7 miles), or Falken1785. Near the Mayen Pont is part of an old tower,

burg, in German (Falcon's Hill), was once the head

of a marquisate. close to the Fontaine des Pucelles. For a long time Metz has been one of the chief

St. Avold Station (64 miles), a pretty little seats of the Jews, who have had a rabbi and a

place of 3,600 pop., under the Bliesberg, once a rabbinical school here. The Romans constructed

fortified post of Lorraine ; with some mineral an amphitheatre and a naumachia (for sea fights) springs, and cloth manufactures. After crossing here, but the traces are almost gone. An aqueduct

the Rosselle two or three times, and the neighwent out to the south-west, of which several arches

bouring ravines, where the works were heavy and remain at Jouey (8 kil.) on the Moselle, as men

difficult, you come to tioned above. Among its eminent natives are Hombourg Station (4} miles), or HombourgMarshal Fabert, a noble creature, whose statue is le-Bas, at the bottom of a hill, which has on t}

0-(Belgium)

uring

[ocr errors]
[ocr errors]
[ocr errors]
[ocr errors]

rBx

[ocr errors]

(a) From Lutterbach, as above, a branch rail- In the Franco-German war of 1870-71, Metz made way goes off through

an important figure. The Emperor Napoleon arCernay (4} miles), a sweet spot (population,

rived here 28th July, issued a proclamation to his 4,600), near the sterile tract of Ochsenfeld, to

army, and marched to the frontier, where Saar

brück was taken 2nd August, in presence of the Thann (38 miles), a town of 5,960 cotton printers,

Prince Imperial. Mac Mahon being defeated at &c., on the Thur, at the entrance of St. Amarin's

Weissenburg and Woerth, the French under Bazvalley, under one of the Vosges hills, which has

aine, retreated towards Metz and Chalons, pursued remains of Engelbourg castle on it. It contains

by the Germans, who obtaind two great victories several ancient houses, and St. Thibault's fine cathedral-like church, with a sculptured doorway,

over them on the 16th August, at Mars-la-Tour,

or Vionville, and on 18th, at Gravelotte, or Rezonand a steeple 328 feet high, built 1516. Vin de

ville, all places within a few miles of Metz. FindRang is produced here.

ing it impossible to cut through the German forces, ROUTE C.

Bazaine retired into Metz, which was completely

invested by 23rd August. On 1st September (the Metz to Forbach and Mannheim,

day before Sedan), he was repulsed in a great For the first part of this Route from Nancy, sortie; and again on the 7th October. Finally he see BRADSHAW's Hand-Book to France.

capitulated on the 27th October, when three marMETZ STATION,

shals (Bazaine, Canrobert, and Lebeuf), with

thousands of officers, and 170,000 men (20,000 being 25 miles from Nancy, 100 miles from Mannheim.

sick and wounded) laid down their arms and were Hotels.-Hotel de l'Europe, a first-rate hotel for families and gentlemen. Table d'Hôte, 4 fr.

transported as prisoners to Germany. The German

forces entered the town 31st October, and it is now Grand Hotel de Metz, an excellent hotel, com- annexed to the Rhine Provinces by .treaty of bining every kind of comfort with reasonable

1st March, 1871. A semi-circular connecting line prices---recommended.

of rail was made by the Germans during the The buffet at the station, which is half a mile investment; and the fortifications have been from the town, is good. Omnibuses and other strengthened. vehicles convey passengers to the hotels.

Several quays line the rivers which are crossed Pop., 57,713. Chief town of German Lorraine

by as many as seventeen Bridgesas the Pont des (late department Moselle), a first-class fortress, Morts, &c., some being very short and old-fashioned, head-quarters of a military division, seat of a

with water-mills upon them. The Places Napoléon, bishopric, &c., in a flattish spot on a bend of the

de la Comédie, and Moselle, are the best squares. Moselle, where the Seille joins it at the old three

In Place Ste. Croix is the old Church of the Trinity, arch bridge of Pont des Bas Grilles. It was the

now the Protestant Temple. Most of the street capital of the Mediomatrici in Roman times

are narrow and dirty; the houses are chiefly of (whence comes the present name), and of Austrasie

stone, two or three storeys high, and some curiously under Clovis. Afterwards it was held sometimes

carved, especially in Place St. Louis. by the French and sometimes by the German Emperors, annexed to France in spite of a long The noble Cathedral, in Place d'Armes, with its siege by Charles V., in 1522, and strongly fortified | flying buttresses, &c., was begun in 1014, by Bishop with works by Vauban and Cormontaigne, includ- Thierri, but not finished till 1546. It is pierced ing the Double Couronne, and Belle Croix Forts, with a great number of windows-many beautifully ! built 1728-31. One of its nine Gates, Porte St. stained, by Busch, 1526. Its length is 393 feet; Thiébaut, leads on the Esplanade, near the citadel, width of nave 51 feet (of the transepts, 46 feet); which is laid out with walks and trees, and com- the two side chapels of the choir are 53 foot by 50; mands a fine prospect of the river and country, while the Gothic spiro, built in 1427, is just as with its vineyards and woodland.

high as the church is long, and carries an im

« PreviousContinue »