« PreviousContinue »
and numerous other branches of industry, par- the Escaut, on whose surface can be seen the ticularly the making of masks, of which large boats as they sail up and down the river. quantities are exported all over the world. There Wetteren Station. A charming village, or is also a superb iron foundry and engine manu- rather town, the capital of a canton, situated to factory, called the Phoenix, founded 1821 by M. the right of the railway, on the right bank of the lluytens Kerremans, in Ghent. Every day in the Escaut. It contains a population of about 9,000 morning, at noon, and in the evening, a bell rings, souls. At this point the direct line to Brussels to announce to the workmen, who amount in diverges to the right, forming a communication with number to 1,500 and upwards, the hour of going to Alost Station (Hotels: Pays Bas; Des Trois work. While this bell is ringing, none of the Rois). On the river Dendre, the chief town of the bridges are allowed to be turned, lest they should district of East Flanders, said to owe its origin to intercept the passage of the industrious artizans. a fortress built by the Goths in 411.
The environs of Ghent are pleasant and fertile, It was formerly the capital of what was called abounding particularly in corn, flax, madder, and Imperial Flanders, and was reduced to ashes by a tobacco. Outside the gate of Courtrai are numer- conflagration in 1360, and in 1667 the celebrated ous country houses, and the road is bordered with Marshal Turenne took and dismantled it. The pleasure gardens. Near the Antwerp gates are town hall is a fine Gothic editice, built in 1210, and still to be traced the ruins of the citadel constructed
is in excellent preservation. The collegiate Church by Charles V., on the site of the abbey of St. of St. Martin was built by the same architect as the Bavin; and in the neighbourhood of the gate of cathedral of Amiens, and contains a fine picture St. Lievin is found a transparent stone, resembling by Rubens, representing the “Plague of Alost." the flint of Fleuris.
The population is about 15,000, chiefly engaged in The fairs held at Ghent commence on the 16th linen, soap, and thread-lace manufactures. March, and continue for eighteen days; 10th July, Leaving Wetteren, the road crosses a viaduct, seventeen days; 9th August, one day; and 3rd and passing along, has to the left the little yillages October, two days.
of Cher: camp and Schelle-Belle, and arrives at Post Office: Rue de l'Université.
Wichelen, after passing the Molenbuk, a stream A communication between the sea and Ghent flowing into the Escaut. exists by means of a canal, which enters the Wichelen Station. A small commune to tho Schelde at Terneuse. This ensures all the ad- right of the railway, with a population of 4,000 vantages of a seaport to the city. Vessels drawing inhabitants. This station is the point-d'arrét for eighteen feet of water can enter the basin. About each train. On quitting this place, the railway fourteen miles north, at Sas van Ghent, are sluices, proceeds through a rather uninteresting piece of by means of which the entire country can be laid country, and arrives at under water.
Termonde Station, or Dendermonde. GHENT TO ANTWERP, see Route 9. Six other Inns: Aigle; De la Demi-Lune. lines run to Selzaete, Hecloo, Bruges, and Ostend;
An ancient town, said to be earlier than the Thourout, Oudenarde, Malines, &c.; and to Brussels,
time of Charlemagne. It is situated at the mouth viâ Alost, half-an-hour shorter than viâ Malines.
of the river Dendre, at its confluence with the Ghent to Mechlin.-Leaving Ghent, the rail- Scheldt. The inhabitants have a taste for the fine way after crossing the Scheldt is carried along the arts, and the traveller may readily obtain access south side of it. The scenery is interesting, and to several private collections, among which we such as usually characterises the environs of a
may name those of M. Schellekin and Madame great and populous city, until we arrive at
Terlinden. David Teniers married in this town, Melle Station, on the Escaut. Containing
and resided for several years. The population is a population of 1,900. The route from Brussels to about 8,100, chiefly engaged in the hemp and flax Ghent, and from Ghent to Mons by Grammont tra le. It is 16 miles by railway west of Malines, here join. From this station to Wetteren the line and 19 from Ghent. The church of Notre Dame describes an immense curve, following the bend of will ropay a visit. It is a low, old building, surmounted by an octagon tower, and contains a edifice. The cathedral was commenced in tho Crucifixion and Adoration of the Shepherds, by latter part of the twelfth century, but was not Van Dyck, and a Virgin and Saints, by Crayer. | finished until the year 1513. The choir is of 1366; A rail from Lokeren comes in here.
the great nave of 1487. The tower was begun On leaving Termonde, we pass a great many 1452; and the round tower which surmounts the pretty villages of no note, and leaving East building, is almost entirely composed of buttresses, Flanders arrive at
which give it, when seen from a distance, tho Malderen Station. A commune containing appearance of a fragment of a colossal fluted column. 1,700 inhabitants, situated at the extremity of the It was built with the funds supplied by tho province of Brabant.
offerings of the pilgrims, who came in crowds to Capelle-au-Bois Station. A little village of Mechlin, to share the advantages of the jubiles no importance. Leaving at a short distance from
and general indulgence proclaimed by Pope Nichere the province of Brabant, we enter at Hombeck holas V., on the occasion of the war in the East, the province of Antwerp. Passing the ruins of the which however terminated the very next year in famous valley of Seliendael, we arrive at
the annihilation of the Eastern Empire, and the MECHLIN Station-(French, Malines; Ger- occupation of Constantinople by the Turks, under man, Mechlen; Flemish, Mechelen).
Mahomed. It was from this jubilee that the town The Malines station is about five minutes' walk acquired the name of “Malines l'heureuse," as it from the town, which is one of the most pictur- has since, from its great cleanliness, been named esque Flemish cities. An obelisk is here erected “Malines la propre," but it is now often called to mark the point where the various Belgic lines "la tranquille," as the grass grows in its streets. of railway diverge to Brussels, Ghent, Antwerp, This tower, 350 feet (98 mètres) high, and has a dial and Liége. The entrance from the railway station plate of 144 feet in circumference. The view from is fine. A line to Terneusen (p. 25) was opened 1871. the summit over the surrounding country is ex
Mechlin is a large town in the province of tensive, comprising the towns of Antwerp, Brussels, Antwerp, divided by the Dyle into two parts. It and Louvain. It was originally intended to suris equidistant from Brussels, Antwerp, and Lou- mount the tower by a vane of copper gilt, which vain, and contains a population of 35,500.
would have increased the height nearly one-third The streets are broad, and bordered in many but the project has never been put into execution, places by good buildings.
and the tower remains unfinished. The alarm The river Dyle passes through the town, and occasioned by the reflection of the moon on this has an ebb and flow of tide for more than a league tower, which gives it the appearance of being on fire, beyond Mechlin, in the direction of Louvain. was the origin of the proverb of the wise men of
This town dates its origin as far back as the fifth Mechlin, who try to extinguish the moon; the century, and was long a subject of contention bare mention of which, to an inhabitant of the between the lords of Brabant and Flanders.
town, would even now excite an irritation not The lace produced at Mechlin is considered | easily to be appeased. The interior of the cathesecond only to that of Brussels, from which it dral presents nothing worthy of notice except the differs principally in being made in a single piece, altar-piece, which is by Van Dyck, its subject is by means of bobbins, by which the entire patterns the Crucifixion. It has also paintings of Crayer, are produced at once, instead of being worked Janssens, and others. The exterior grand-front is gradually by the hand, and hence it is stronger ornamented with several statues, amongst them than the Brussels lace, though inferior to it in
are Faith, Hope, Charity, and the Apostles. Its delicacy of workmanship.
carillons or bells, which are noted, were constructed The principal building of Mechlin is the cathe- | by Van der Gheyn, an artist of the eighteenth dral, which is the metropolitan church of Belgium. century, author of “Morceaux Fugués." It is dedicated to St. Rombauld, who was assassin- In the church of Notre Dame, behind the grand ated by the Pagans, in 765, in the chapel of St. altar, is the Miraculous Draught of Fishes, painted Stephen, wbieh stood near the site of the present | by Rubens, expressly for the Guild of Fishmongers,
and considered one of his finest productions. In Near the Antwerp Gate is a small convent of the same church are also a few fine pictures by Béguines, which deserves attention. In the chape! Van Dyck. The traveller must take care not to are some pictures worthy of notice. confound this church with that called Nôtre Dame Near the Town Hall (of the fifteenth century) is d'Hanswyck, which is remarkable for its beautiful the statue of the Regent Margaret, placed here 1849. cupola, and also for its carved pulpit, representing
Mechlin also possesses a college, a public semithe temptation and fall of Adam and Eve. This
nary, the catholic university, as well as some ehurch owes its origin to a miraculous image of societies for the cultivation of literature and the the Virgin, which floated in a boat against the
fine arts. The principal articles manufactured stream, until it arrived at the spot where the
here, in addition to the lace which has been before church now stands, when it approached the bank
mentioned, are leather, jewellery, all kinds of and remained firm; of course a sacred edifice to
woollen and cotton stuffs, hats, combs, pins, oil of onshrine the image was immediately built; and
colza, and flax. There are also tan yards, dyeingequally, of course, the image repaid the devotion
houses, salt refineries, and factories for all kinds of the inhabitants by performing numerous and of work in copper and tin. John Bol, one of the stupendous miracles, which soon attracted pilgrims carliest miniature painters, and Michael Coxcie, and offerings, sufficient to repay the expense to an historical painter and pupil of Raphael, and which they had put themselves.
Frans Hals, were natives of this town. The boulebeing answered, the image no longer thought it
vards and ramparts afford pleasant walks, and are worth while to exert its miraculous powers to
the general rendezvous of the townspeople. There protect itself, and it was destroyed by sacrilegious
are two Fairs of fifteen days each, commencing the bands, when the town was pillaged, as above
first Sunday after the 1st day of July, and the mentioned. The church formerly belonging to the
second on the 1st of October, for all kinds of merJesuits, and still bearing their name, deserves
chandise; and on the Saint Saturday in October attention for its handsome Gothic front, and also
is a well-frequented horse and cattle fair. for a series of paintings, forming a history of St.
On leaving this station for Brussels the rail Francis Xavier, the Indian Missionary.
crosses the Louvain Canal. On the east of the Church of St. John are four fine paintings, by
road between Malines and Vilvorde is seen the Rubens, representing the Adoration of the Magi,
chateau of Rubens at Stein, of which he was prothe Birth of Christ, the Descent from the Cross,
prietor. and the Resurrection. This church has also some
Vilvorde Station. A small, healthy town, of fine wood sculpture, by Verhaegen, and a good pulpit, with a remarkable group by the sculptor 5,000 inhabitants, situated between Malines and Duquesnoy.
Brussels. It is one of the most ancient in Belgium,
and is much visited by philanthropists desirous of The church of the Béguinage has some good paintings by Von Loon, Crayer, Quellyn, Soyer- inspecting the great prison or Penitentiary, built
in the suburbs of the town. The Church of Vilmans, &c., and a splendid ivory crucifix said to be
vorde contains some exquisite carvings in wood. the work of Duquesnoy.
In this town, Tindal, the first English translator The church of St. Catharine is chiefly remark
of the Bible, suffer ed martyrdom in 1536, crying able on account of its paintings, some of which
out, “Lord, open the King of England's eyes." are good, including an Adoration, by Morille, held
At present this little town has acquired considerin high estimation by Rubens.
able reputation, from its possessing an excellent The streets of Mechlin are wide and handsome, boarding-school for the education of young ladies; particularly that called Den Bruhl, in which is this establishment is conducted by Mademoiselles the splendid hotel belonging to the Commander Squilliers, and the concurrent testimony of innuof Pitzembourg, of the Teutonic order. It was merable Protestant families represent it as being inbabited both by Louis XIV. and Louis XV. one of the best and most irreproachable institutions The magnificent garden is now open to the public. I on the continent.
The route on leaving the last station takes in the view of many beautiful country seats, spread along the banks of the canal leading to Brussels. To the right, as we approach Brussels, is seen the Palace of Laeken, belonging to the King of the Belgians, now the residence of the widow of the Emperor Maximilian of Mexico. This palace was originally built for the Austrian Governor of the Netherlands. It was afterwards inhabited by Napoleon, and is remarkable as being the place where he planned his Russian campaign. It is enclosed by magnificent gardens and a park, and is 3 miles from Brussels. The late queen, Louise Marie, is buried here (1850). A statue of Madame Malibran iş erected in the cemetery at Laeken, where she is buried, her husband having brought her body from Manchester, at which place she died, to be interred here. The statue is by Geeís, and is placed in a kind of temple. A beautiful and lengthy avenue of trees (l'allée vert) extends from Laeken to Brussels. The railroad traverses the opposite side of the canal and near the Botanical Gardens, opposite the Rue Neuve at the Port de Cologne, enters BRUSSELS, see Route 6.
Lille to Brussels. Via Mouscron, Tournay, Ath, and Jurbise.
Distance, 84 English miles. The direct rail tı Tournay is via Blandain on the frontier.
Roubaix, Tourcoing, and Mouscron Stations, described in previous route, are first passed
At the latter place travellers for Tournay change. carriages, and luggage is examined.
Leaving MorSCRON, we quit the line from that place to Lille, and find ourselves on the branch one leading to Tournay. To the left is Herseaux, at the extreme point of the frontier, rising to the south-east by the province of Hainault, or Henne. gau in Flemish, into which the road enters, verging for some' miles towards the French frontier. Leaving the village of Estampuis to the left, and that of Watreloos and its church to the right, both the latter of which are in France, the road passes the hamlets of Fournette, Jonquières, and Esetaimbourg, the capital of a commune, and arrives at Nechin Station, a place of no importance. The deat place is
Templeuve Station. A town containing 3,000 inhabitants. As we approach Tournay, we see to the right the village of Froyennes, the faubourg de Main, and the beautiful promenade of the Seven Sisters, all forming a splendid panorama. Advancing on, the railway crosses the Scheldt by a splendid viaduct of many arches. Look to the right;
what an admirable entrance to the town! A beautiful coup d'ail is formed by the bridges, towers, houses, and rivers, all identified with some historical event, The terminus is approached, and we arrive at the station, on the Quay Escaut.
Hotels: De Belle Vue; De l'Imperatrice; Du Singe d'Or.
A Belgian city, in the province of Hainault. The town itself is indifferently built, and has a gloomy aspect; it contains a population of nearly 1,000, who are engaged in the manufacture of cotton and woollen stuffs. The workmen labour
t home, instead of in factories. Of the public buildings, that of the Cathedral is the most celebrated; it is one of the most ancient and curious in the country. The internal ornaments are numecous. The choir is of a remarkably bold and striking nature; the pulpit is a gem, by Gilis, and the hrine of St. Eleu Marcus a masterpiece of worknanship in gold. There is also a beautiful gallery, y Lecroux, of Tournay, and four genii, the gems of the place, by Duquesnoy. The pictures are, a Purgatory, by Rubens, and a Crucifixion, by Jordaeng.
The churches of St. Quentin, St. Piat, and St. James are interesting specimens of the primitive lothic style. The Church of St. Nicholas de Chaeau is of remarkable architecture, and possesses some fine pictures.
Henry VIII. captured Tournay in 1518, and beitowed it upon ('ardinal Wolsey, who yielded it 1p to Francis I., and persuaded his royal master to sell the town to the French King, influenced by the promised interest of that monarch to obtain his elevation to the papacy.
The Public Library contains 20,000 volumes, and several curious manuscripts. The cabinet of natural history, in the museum at the Hotel do Ville, is worthy of notice.
Post Office.comRue Notre Dame.
Five miles south-east of Tournay, to the right | church of St. Vincent is believed to be the most of the post road to Ath, is the battle-field of Fon- ancient in Belgium; from its shape, and by the tenoy, seen immediately after passing the village style of its architecture, it is certainly one of the of Bourquembrays. In this spot was fought the most curious. The beautifully sculptured stalls battle between the English, Dutch, and Austrians, are worthy of notice. The college of Soignies is commanded by the Duke of Cumberland, and one of the most renowned in Belgium; it is still French under Marshal Saxe.
well attended. The principal trade carried on is Quitting Tournay, the following stations are in the quarrying of the stone, known as that of met with, none of which is of any importance:- Soignies. Havinnes, Bary-Maulde Lueze (where the
Post Office, near the church. lines from Renaix and Mons come in), and Ligne.
Braine-le-Comte Station. A small ancient After which we arrive at
town of the province of Hainault, in the district Ath Station (Inn: Cygne). A fortified town
of Mons. It is said that Brennus, the Gaul, 391 on the Dendre, 21 miles from Tournay. A terrible
years before Christ, founded a fortress and tower fire in 1433, a hurricane in 1800, and an earthquake
upon the site of the present church. The parish in 1691, and other disastrous events, dismantled
church is deserving of notice. The stone taberAth of all her monuments, &c. St. Julion's Tower
nacle at the choir is a fine piece of sculpture, but and the Parish Church alone escaped the conflag
much disfigured with gilding and painting. The ration. Ath sustained many deadly sieges. The
front of the convent of the Dominicans is an elegant fortifications constructed in 1815 are strengthened
structure. The principal hotel is Du Cygne. The with great care. The population is about 9,000.
manufactures are chiefly cotton spinning and At a short distance from Ath, on the direct line to
lace thread spinning. On the right the line turns Brussels, vid Hal (see below), is
off to Charleroi and Namur. Travellers, proceeding Engbien Station. A town cont. ining about
direct to Namur and Liége, change carriages at 8,700 inhabitants. The beautiful park and gardens
this station. surrounding the chateau of the Duke D'Aremberg, destroyed during the French Revolution, deserve
The surrounding district here is celebrated for notice. At Meslin l'Evêque, near Ath, the culti
the superiority of its flax, the best grown any
where. It is employed in the manufacture of tation of the mulberry and silkworm has been introduced with much success. The Belioel, 6
brussels lace. To the north-west, a few miles miles from Ath, not far from the road, is famous
distant, is Steenkerke, the spot where the Duke as the patrimonial estate of the Prince de Lignc
of Luxembourg defeated William III., with a loss illustrious in the triple capacity of diplomatist, of 7,000 men, in 1692. soldier, and author.
Quitting the last station, the railway pierces Mafiles, Attre, Brugelette, Lens Stations, the tunnel of Braine-le-Comte, and enters a deep are next met with, all near places of no importance. cutting, passing Heunnuyres, a commune of the
province of Hainault; and La Genette, where Jurbise Station. A small commune, with a
Jean Jacques Rousseau died, in 1741, after which population of 700 souls. It is about 8 miles from
it arrives at Mons by railway. The country along from Jurbise to Braine-le-comte is rather interesting. Here
Tubise Station. A commune in the district there is a correspondence with the railway from
of Nivellos, in the province of Brabant, with a Mons.
population of 2,500 souls. Soignies Station.
Lembecq Station. A town containing 2,800 Hotels: De l'Ange; des Voyageurs; des Trois inhabitants, with no objects of interest gave its Rois.
old chateau and its numerous distilleries. Nothing The chiof town of a canton of the province of worth notice presents itself after leaving the Hainault, in the distriet of Mons, with a popula- Tubiso station. Crossing the Sonne and the canal tion of 6,800 souls. Its origis is mçiot The Charleroi, wo next arrive at