Page images
PDF
[graphic]

THE ENVIRONS OF LONDON,

CONTAINING AN ACCOUNT OF EVERY TOWN AND VILLAGE,
AND OF ALL PLACES OF INTEREST,
WITHIN A CIRCLE OF TWENTY MILES ROUND LONDON.

[merged small][graphic]

JOHN MURRAY, ALBEMARLE STREET.

1870.

The Right nf Translation is Reserved.

HAZELL, WATSON, AND VINEY, LONDON AND AYLESBURY.

LAMBOURNE, Essex (Dom.Lamhiirna), lies just off the Ongar road, 2J m. from the Theydon Stat, of the Grt. E. Kly. (Ongar br.), through Abridge, and 13 m. from Whitechapel by road. Pop. 939.

Abridge is a hamlet of Lambourne, and contains the shops and inns. (See Abridge.) Lambourne Church (St. Mary and All Saints) stands on high ground 1 m. S.E. of Abridge and the highroad. It has nave and chancel, with tall tiled roofs. A short wooden tower and spire rises from the W. end of the nave. The N. door is Norm., but the body of the church has been covered with plaster inside and out, and all evidence of antiquity hidden. The windows are modern, and without tracery; some fragments of old painted glass are apparently Flemish. The interior is cumbered with high pews and a gallery. Obs. mont. to Thomas Wynyffe, the deposed Bp. of Lincoln. Lambourne was his first living; and after his deprivation (1641) he returned to Lambourne to spend his remaining days, and was buried in the ch. 1654. At the foot of the Bp.'s tomb, but without a mont., lies the Rev. Michael Tyson, the antiquary, known by his etchings. Tyson was given the living by his college —Christ Church, Cambridge,—but died shortly after induction (May 4, 1780). Obs. alto-rilievo of Hope leaning on an urn, by Wilton, on mont. of John Lockwood (d. 1778). Brass, with effigies, of Robert Barefoot, citizen and mercer of London (d. 1646), and Katherine his wife. In the ch.-yard notice the fine views over the forest and away to the Kentish hills; and the grand old oak on the N.

Close to the ch. is the old manor-house, Lambourne Hall, now a farm-house. Bishop's Hall (General W. M. Wood), J m. S.W. of the ch., marks the site of a residence of Henry Spenser, the warlike Bishop of Norwich, who in 1381 defeated John Litester and his Norfolk followers. Patch Park (E. Eliot Eliot, Esq.) is just beyond the rectory, 1 m. N.E. from the ch. Knoll HaU, U m. S.E. of the ch., a mansion built by the 1st Lord Fortescue, was taken down some years ago, and the site occupied by a farm-house. Dews Hall, \ m. S. of the ch., was the seat of the Lockwoods.

LAMORBEY, Kent {see Bexley).

LANGLEY BURY, Hebts {see Abbot's Langley).

LANGLEY MARSH, Bucks (anc.

L. Maries and MarisK). adjoins Upton, Horton, and Iver. The vill. is 2 m. N.W. of Colnbrook, and a stat. on the Grt. W. Ely., 16J m. from Paddington. Pop. 1694, including 474 in the eccl. dist. of St. Thomas, Colnbrook, and 48 in that of Gerard's Cross.

The suffix Maries or Marish is supposed by Lipscomb to be derived from Christiana de Mariscis, who held the manor after the Montfichets. It escheated to the Crown in the reign of Edward I. ; and was granted by Henry VI. to Eton College in 1447, but resumed, and, in 1492, was assigned by Henry VII. to Elizabeth, Queen Consort. Henry VIII. gave it as dower, in 1510, to his consort Katherine of Aragon. In 1523 he granted a lease of it for life to Henry Norres, Keeper of the King's Woods; and in 1540 irade a further grant to Sir Anthony Denny. Edward VI. granted the reversion to Heneage and Willoughby in 1548; and in 1651 assigned the manor to the Princess Elizabeth. Charles I., in 1626, alienated the manor to Sir John Kederminster, whose daughter carried it by marriage to Sir John Parsons. From Parsons it ^passed to Seymour, then to Masham. In 1738 Lord Masham sold it to the 2nd Duke of Marlborough. Fifty years later it was sold to Sir Robert Bateson Harvey, Bart., in whose family it continues.

The old Manor House—about a mile N. of the church—was pulled down by the Duke of Marlborough about 1758, and the present mansion, Langley Park, erected on the site. It is a large square stone building, with a central pediment, in the bald pseudo-classic taste of the time; but is stately, commodious, and has some noble rooms, in which are many good pictures, and among them Reynolds's masterpiece, Mrs. Siddons as the Tragic Muse. The park is nearly 3 miles long, and has an area of over 300 acres; is richly wooded, contains 2 lakes, and affords many picturesque views. The Black Park, a celebrated feature of Langley Park, N. of the Home Park, acquired its name from the dense fir

« PreviousContinue »