« PreviousContinue »
frey of Bouillon to the Bishop of Liège This is the route taken by the dilito raise funds for the First Crusade. gences, two of which set out every day, In after-times the bishops refused to al- and perform the journey in about 36 low it to be redeemed, which gave rise hours. to a long series of feuds and fights be- Leaving Brussels by the Porte tween them and Godfrey's descendants. d'Anderlecht, the road passes several In 1601, the House of Latour d'Au- villages, but no place of importance vergne assumed the sovereignty and till it reaches Hal, a small town of title of Dukes of Bouillon, with the 5000 inhabitants, famous for basketconsent of Louis XIV. The town work. The Church of our Lady is was ceded to the Netherlands by the rich in votive offerings made to the treaty of Vienna. The extensive miracle-working image within. ruins of the Castle of Bouillon occupy 11 La Gennette. Jean Battiste the summit of a rock elevated high Rousseau died here in 1741. The above the town, and washed by the small village of Braine le Comte is river Semoi.
said to derive its name from the
Gaulish chief Brennus (?). The dis. ROUTE XXXII.
trict around furnishes some of the TO PARIS BY PERONNE finest flax which is any where proAND CAMBRAY.
duced : it is employed in the manuPosts. Eng. miles.
facture of Brussels Jace. A few Hal
11 miles to the N. W. is Steenkerk, La Genette
81 where William III. was defeated by Soignies
81 the Duke of Luxemburg, in 1692, Mons
11 with a loss of 7000 men. Hornu
14 Soignies has given its name Quievrain
11 8 to the vast forest which reaches to Valenciennes
11 85 Waterloo. The river Seine rises Bouchain
25 12 close to Soignies. Cambray
11 2 Mons (Bergen in Germ.). – Bonavy
11 81 Inns, Hótel de la Poste ; - Hótel ImFins
84 perial. Peronne
11 Mons, the chef-lieu of the Province Marché le Pot
84 of Hainault (Hennegau), is a fortified Fouches
5} town, owing its origin to a castle Roye
51 built here by Julius Cæsar as a strongCouchy les Pots
14 84 hold during his campaign against the Cuvilly
5 Gauls. It contains 23,000 inhabit. Gournay
ants. The fortifications were razed sur Aronde
51 by the Emperor Joseph II., but Bois de Lihus
11 7 have been renewed and strengthened Pont Ste. Maxence
83 since 1818. The facilities for laying Senlis
8 the country round the town comLa Chapelle en Ser
pletely under water, by admitting valle
51 the river Trouille, add greatly 10 Louvres
14 84 its defensive capabilities. Bourget
11 83 proach on the east is rendered diffiParis
84 cult by two large ponds or lakes which
surround the walls on that side. 371 205 Mons derives great advantages from
the numerous and productive coal Charged 391 posts, with 2 Posts mines by which it is surrounded; a Royal.
great many steam-engines are em
employed to pump up the water and the French masters of Belgium.. A extract the coal, which is exported in stone has been set up close to the large quantities to Paris by the long road to mark the scene of the battle. line of inland navigation connecting 14 Hornu, is a populous and inthese mines with the French me- creasing colony, already numbering tropolis. It has been calculated that more than 3000 inhabitants, though of a population of nearly 23,000 persons recent origin, having been established are employed in and about the mines by the late M. Legrand. It is comof the coalfield of Mons. There are posed principally of miners and iron also in the neighbourhood extensive forgers, who are maintained by the bleaching grounds. The principal mines of coal and iron here. The vilbuildings are the Church of St. Wau- | lage is built with straight streets on a drun, a very handsome Gothic edifice, uniform plan, the houses being of the begun in 1460, but not completed same height. till 1580. The Castle, a high tower 11 Quievrain, a small village, is or beffroi, built in 1662, on the site the station of the Belgian custom of Cæsar's Castrum, as is reported. house officers. About | mile further The Gothic Town-hall was built in on, the small river l'Aunelle marks 1440.
the boundary of France. There is Mons was the native place of Or- a triple row of French custom houses lando Lassus, the celebrated musician on this frontier, and the repeated of the XVIth century. A communica- searches to which the traveller is subtion is opened between the town of jected is often very annoying, and Mons and the Scheldt by the Canal de occasions considerable delay. Condé; a new branch, called Canal 1} VALENCIENNES.
Inns, La d'Antoing, has recently been cut to Poste : Le Canard : La Biche : La avoid the French territory altoge- Cour de France. - A fortress of the ther, and to enter the Scheldt lower second class, constructed by the engi. down, at a point where both banks of neer Vauban : it lies on the Scheldt, that river belong to Belgium. At and has a population of 20,000 souls. the distance of about 10 miles from In 1793 it was taken by the allies un. Mons, but within the French frontier, der the Duke of York, after a severe was fought the bloody battle of Mal- | bombardment which destroyed plaquet, 1709, where the Duke of part of the town ; it was yielded back Marlborough and Prince Eugene beat
In the grand square or the French, though with a loss of Place d'Armes are situated the Hótel 20,000 men.
de Ville, a Gothic building, the On quitting Mons the road crosses Theatre, and the Belfry. The Church the river Trouille, runs along the of St. Gery is reported to contain two dyke of the Canal de Condé, and paintings by Rubens. passes close to the sluices of St. The celebrated Valenciennes lace Ghislain, by means of which the is manufactured here, and a whole country around might be inun- siderable quantity of fine cambric. dated. Between Mons and the village This is the birth-place of Watteau of Quaregnon lies that of Jemappes, the painter, of Froissart the historian, celebrated for the victory gained by and of the minister D'Argenson. the French, under General Du- On entering France, passports mouriez and the Duke de Char. must be delivered up here; and on tres, now King Louis-Philippe, in quitting the country, they are strictly 1792, over the Austrians. Three examined by the police. coal pits were filled with dead bodies Recent researches and excavations of men and horses after the battle. in the neighbouring village of Famar The result of this victory was to make (Fanum Martis), have brought to
light a great many Roman antiqui. in 1508, and a treaty of peace beties and traces of an ancient fortress. tween Charles V. and Francis I. was
On quitting Valenciennes, the road signed in 1529. passes through the rich coal field of The Canal of St. Quentin begins Auzin; probably the most important at Cambrai, where it issues out of for its produce in all France: 40 the Scheldt; it joins the Oise at mines are worked in this district; Chauny. It is of the highest importsome of them are 300 metres deep. ance in promoting the industry and Paris is su ied with a large quan- | prosperity of the district through tity of coal from hence, by the canal
which it passes. of St. Quentin.
11 Bonavy. Here the route to The last or innermost Douane is at Paris by Peronne separates from that Douchy
by St. Quentin. See next route. 21 Bouchain, a fortress on the At Vendhuille, about l] mile from Scheldt, with about 1200 inhabitants. the road, is the entrance of thetunnel
2 CAMBRAI, — Inns, Grand Canard; through which the canal of St. Quen. - H. de Hollande, another for- tin is conducted, in a subterraneous tress on the Scheldt, with 17,000 in- course, for a distance of nearly 41 habitants, principally remarkable for miles. This is a hilly stage. the fine muslin (batiste) manufac- 1} Fins. tured here, and named by the Eng
2 Peronne. Hôtel St. Martin ; lish after the place where it is made, H. d'Angleterre. A fortress on the cambric. It was the episcopal see N. bank of the Somme. It bore the of the venerable Fénélon, author of epithet la Pucelle, because it never Télémaque, who was buried here. was captured by an enemy, down to The sacrilegious hands of the revo- 1815, when the Duke of Wellington lutionists, in 1793, tore his body from took it by assault, and deprived it for the peaceful grave, and melted the ever of its virgin reputation. The lead of his coffin into bullets. The 1st brigade of Guards formed the beautiful Cuthedral was utterly de- storming party who carried the out. stroyed at the same time. By way works on that occasion.
It is no of making some atonement for the longer worth while to keep up the for. outrage, a handsome monument was tifications, as they are commanded by erected to his memory in 1825, in neighbouring heights. Its ramparts the present cathedral, decorated with are in consequence now planted with his statue, and with 3 bas reliefs, re- trees, and changed into agreeable presenting memorable events of his walks, much embellished by the vicilife-the education of the Duke of nity of the Somme. The number of Burgundy—the Archbishop attend- inhabitants in the town exceeds 4000. ing the wounded soldier after the It was in the castle of Peronne battle of Malplaquet-and the cow that Charles the Bald detained the restored to the peasant. His remains crafty Louis XI. his prisoner, in the áre deposited beneath the monument, way so admirably described in Quenwhich is the work of David the tin Durward. The Church of St. Farcy sculptor.
is a handsome Gothic edifice. The Of the 12 churches which existed situation of Peronne is exceedingly before the Revolution, 2 alone remain. unwholesome, owing to the marshes The only other public building of
which surround it." consequence, is the Hótel de Ville, of 11 Marché le pot. modern construction. Cambrai is 1 Fonches. called Camaracum in the Itinerary of 1 Roye:- Inn, Grand Cerf. Antonine.
1} Conchy les pots. The famous league against the re- 1 Cuvilly. public of Venice was concocted here, 1 Gournay sur Aronde.
11 Bois de Lihus.
post (about 51 miles) longer than the * ]] Pont St. Maxence, a
small preceding route by Peronne. town of 3000 inhabitants, on the In the stage beyond Bonavy, the bank of the Oise.
road traverses the little village of l} Senlis. Inn, H. du Grand Castelet, near which, behind the gar. Cerf.-A town of 5000 inhabitants, dens of Mont St. Martin, the Scheldt having a very fine cathedral,
(l'Escaut) rises ; it flows from an arch 1 La Chapelle en Serval.
in the side of a hill. This and the 1} Louvres; 2 leagues from this following stage are hilly. is the village of Ermenonville, where 1x Bellecourt. Rousseau died and was buried. On At the castle of Tronquoi, not far the right of the road is seen the Cha- from St. Quentin, is the entrance to tean of Ecouen, built by Francis I., the subterranean passage which con. destined by the will of the late Duke ducts the canal of St. Quentin for 7020 de Bourbon, who settled a revenue of yards through the solid rock: it is 20 40001. a year on it, as a seminary for feet high and 20 broad; it admits only the children of the Knights of St. one barge to pass at a time, towed by Louis. Napoleon, during the empire, men who walk along the side. By converted it into a school on the means of this canal, a communimodel of that of St. Cyr, and placed cation is opened between the river Madame Campan at the head of the Scheldt and the extreme eastern establishment.
departments of France and the At13 Bourget. It is recorded that lantic, through the rivers Somme, Napoleon, on his flight from the field Seine, and Loire; it was completed of Waterloo, lingered here two hours by Napoleon in 1810; it enters the on the 20th of June, 1815, in order
Oise at Chauny. to avoid entering Paris by day light. lf St. Quentin. Inns, H. du
The traveller enters Paris by the Cigne ; H. d’Angleterre; H. de Barrière St. Martin,
l’Ange. A town of about 18,000 in1} Paris,
habitants, on the Somme, called by
Cæsar Samarobriva. It is the centre ROUTE XXXIII.
of the muslin (batiste) manufac
ture; nearly 5000 spinners and from BRUSSELS TO Paris by Sr. QUENTIN.
300 to 500 weavers are employed on
Posts. Eng. miles. this branch of industry; besides which Brussels to Bonavy 1 17 = 90; it has 29 cotton factories. Under its See preceding Route.
walls was fought the memorable Bellecourt
1 = 91 battle of St. Quentin or St. Laurent, St. Quentin
le 97 in which the Spaniards, under PhiRoupy
51 libert, Duke of Savoy, defeated the Ham
82 French, and took their General, Guiscard
Montmorency, prisoner, 1557. OutNoyon
li 81 side of St. Quentin, our road passes Ribecourt
11 7 near the field of battle. Compiègne
1 Roupy. La Croix St. Ouen
11 Ham. A small town on the Villeneuve Verberie
Somme, with 2000 inhabitants. Its Senlis
87 citadel has been much strengthened Senlis to Paris 1 · 52 301 | by modern works, so as to be now a
fortress of importance : it serves as 403 posts charged 381 =2104 a state prison, for which purpose it,
is well fitted: the central tower, or This is the route taken by the donjon, is 100 feet high, 100 feet French mail (malle poste); it is one
wide, and the walls are of masonry,
36 feet thick. The Prince de Po mans gave it the name Compendium, lignac, and three other unfortunate because their military stores and amministers of Charles X., who signed munition of all sorts were kept here. the fatal ordonnances of July 25th, The first organ ever seen in Frauce 1830, are now confined here.
was placed in the Church of St. CorThe Abbey Church of Ham is said neille by Pepin-le-bref, who received to be an interesting building.
it as a present from Constantinople. General Foy was born here.
He held several councils here; the in the next stage, the road crosses most memorable was that in which the ridge which divides the waters of Louis le Débonnaire was declared the Somme from those of the Seine. incapable of governing.
Between Ham and a village called The Royal Palace, originally built, Nesle, Henry V. crossed the Somme, 876, by Charles the Bald, Duke of by a ford which the French had left Burgundy, has been a favourite resiunguarded, with his brave army, dence of the kings of France, who which two days after fought and often repaired hither to enjoy the gained the battle of Agincourt, 1415. pleasures of the chase in its very ex
14 Guiscard, or Magny Guiscard. tensive park and neighbouring forest. A hilly stage.
The building was augmented and 14 Noyon.—Inn, H. des Chevalets. improved by Francis I. ; a new facade A very ancient town on the right side was built by Louis XIV. Napoleon of the Ois with 7000 inhabitants, added a splendid hall or gallery : it remarkable as the birth-place of the was here that he met his bride Maria reformer, John Calvin, and of Gene- Louisa. Charles X. spent much of ral Dumouriez. It was besieged by his time here, in his favourite sport of Julius Cæsar, who calls it Novio- shooting. The interior of the palace dunum Belgarum: in after-times, is elegantly furnished. Hugues Capet was elected by his It was under the walls of Comvassals King of France at this place piègne that the heroic Joan of Arc in 987.
was made prisoner by the English, The Cathedral is of great antiquity, 1430, with her charmed banner in having been begun in the time of her hands ; she had attempted an un. Pepin, and finished by Charlemagne. successful sally from the gates, and
The Bishop's Palace is a consider- was endeavouring to re-enter the able building.
town when her retreat was cut off, 17 Ribecourt. The road runs by and she was taken into captivity, the side of the Oise.
which ended only with her death. 1 Compiègne. — Inn, Lion d'Or. 1 La Croix St. Ouen. A town of 7000 inhabitants, on the 1} Verberie. bank of the Oise, a little below its Senlis to Paris. See Route XXXII. junction with the Aisne. The Ro.