Page images
PDF
EPUB

A

KECORD OF THE ANTIQUITIES

OF

WALES AND ITS MARCHES,

AND THE JOURNAL OF

${ri €mhian IrtjiKnlngiral %tnmtinu.

[graphic][merged small]

LONDON:

W. PICKERING, 177, PICCADILLY.

TENBY: R. MASON.
1853.

[ocr errors][merged small]

PREFACE TO VOL, IV.

NEW SERIES.

The course of time has brought us to the completion of another Volume of the Arch^eologia Cambrensis, and warns us to address a few Editorial observations to our friends, who have kindly and consistently attached themselves to us, and assisted us thus far in prosecuting our literary labours, in the face of no little discouragement.

We confidently appeal to our articles, especially those on "Leominster Church," "Newton Nottage," "Early Remains in the Great Isle of Aran," "Carn Goch," "Breselu Hill," and the "Poems of Taliesin," in proof that we have endeavoured to make the Journal worthy of its name and position.

As long as we may reckon the names of Freeman, Knight, Hartshorne, Archdeacon Williams, Fenton, and Stephens among our contributors, it is impossible that the Arch-eologia Cambrensis can degenerate in point of talent, instruction, or general interest.

The present Editor feels proud in having been officially connected with the work from its very commencement. When it had existed about a year, he suggested the formation of the Cambrian Archaeological Association, which also, in conjunction with his colleague, he succeeded in

[ocr errors]
« PreviousContinue »