« PreviousContinue »
1, Phæbe Parsons; 2, Martha Phelps ; 3, Marian Chandler ; the latter was the mother of our member. The above particulars are gathered from a pamphlet, 4to. pp. 6, compiled by Judge Lane, entitled An imperfect list of Descendants of Job Lane, William Lane, of Dorchester, and William Lane, of Boston, with notices of some others of the same name.”
The children of Hon. Ebenezer? Lane, our member, are Ebenezer S. Lane, Frances Elizabeth,8 married Alfred Chesebrough, and William Griswolds Lane. The memoir of Judge Lane will be found in this number of the Register, pp. 301-313. He accepted membership Feb. 13, 1857.
Piper, Solomon, a resident member, died at Boston, Oct. 15, 1866, aged 77. He was the eldest of ten children of Solomon and Susanna (Pratt) Piper, and was born in Temple, N. H., July 19, 1789. He was a descendant of Nathaniel Piper, who came from England, settled in Ipswich, Mass., and died in 1676, having had nine children, the youngest of whom, Jonathan,2 moved to Concord, Mass., where he died, May 11, 1752, having had children, the youngest of whom, Joseph,3 married Esther, daughter of Henry Wright, of Westford, Mass. Josephs and Esther (Wright) Piper had nine children, of whom the sixth was Solomon, born in Concord, Mass., Oct. 20, 1754, married Sept. 28, 1788, Susanna, daughter of Rufus Pratt, of Greenwich, Mass. Solomon, (father of our member) died Dec. 20, 1827. See Hist. Dublin, N. H., p. 382—384; Blood's Hist. of Temple, N. H., pp. 239, 240.
Mr. Piper aided in the publication of the History of Dublin, and was the author of Genealogy of the Family of Solomon Piper, of Dublin, N. H., Boston, 1849, 8vo. pp. 20. He was elected a resident member in 1864.
A memoir, by Rev. William P. Tilden, of Boston, will be found in this volume of the Register, pp. 205–207.
Swett, Col. Samuel, a resident member, died at his residence in Hancock street, Boston, October 28, 1866, aged 84. He was son of Dr. John Barnard and Charlotte (Bourne) Swett, born in Newburyport, June 9, 1782; was fitted for college at the Grammar school in Newburyport, by his father (grad. H. C. 1771.) who died in Newburyport, of yellow fever, Aug. 16, 1796, at the age of 46. This delayed his entering Harvard College till late in that season. In the mean time a subscription was raised to defray his college expenses, by the friends of his father. In the winter of his junior year he kept school in Lexington, He graduated in the class of 1800. After leaving college he studied law in Exeter, with Judge Jeremiah Smith, till March, 1801, when he was requested by his classmate, William Pilsbury, to take his place in the funded school in Roxbury, that he might accept the invitation of his father to join him in Charleston, where the young man died in September of 1801, aged 26 years. Mr. Swett accordingly kept school till the following July, when he continued the study of law with Judge Charles Jackson (H. C. 1793), and a short time with Judge Edward Livermore, and commenced practice, in Salem, in 1803. He married Aug. 25, 1807, Lucia, daughter of Hon. William Gray. In 1810, he relinquished the practice of law, and removed to Boston, spending the summers, for several years, on a farm in Cambridge, and became a partner in the firm of William B. Swett & Co. In the last year of the war of 1812, he entered the army as a volunteer, in the staff of Gen. Izard, in which he served as a topographical engineer, through the whole of the campaign, with the rank of Major. Soon after the peace-Bonaparte returning from Elba-he went to Europe, and saw much of the allied armies while engaged in the war, and published an account of his tour in the Boston Daily Advertiser. He was Aid de Camp to Gov. Brooks; was a member of the Common Council in 1823; was also a member of the board of School Committee, and for three years a Representative to the General Court. In 1819, he again visited Europe, with his wife, for her health, where he passed a year. She died May 15, 1844, aged 55 years. He had five children, four sons and one daughter, of whom two sons and the daughter are living. He had eight grandchildren. His eldest son, William Gray Swett, graduated at H. C. in 1828, studied Divinity, and was settled as a Unitarian minister in Lexington and Lynn. He died in Charlestown, Feb. 5, 1843. A pamphlet, containing five of his sermons and two pieces of poetry, was printed in 1843, after his decease. The second son of Col, Swett was Samuel Bourne Swett, physician at Eseter, N. II. The third son, John Barnard Swett, of Bristol, R. I., died March 27, 1867. The daughter, Lucia Gray Swett, married Francis Alexander, artist; resides with her husband and children in Florence, Italy.
Col. Swett took a great interest in military matters. He was was chosen the first commander of the New England Guards, organized in Boston, Sept. 22, 1812. He was a frequent contributor to the newspapers, and furnished several articles for the Register, the last of which was printed in Volume xviii. for 1864, page 61, entitled “Horatio Greenough, the designer of Bunker Hill Monument.” This was the substance of two papers read before our Society, Aug. 5, and Nov. 4, 1863. He attended, often, the meetings of the Society, and occasionally read short articles. It was quite amusing, at times, to witness his fervor, while presenting his brief productions. The elevation of voice and distinctness of articulation manifested by our octogenarian friend were indeed remarkable. Some two years before his death we had an opportunity of
vitnessing his agility, the wonderful elasticity of his step as he ran up the winding bairs that led to one of the offices in State street he was in the habit of visiting. Until near the close of his career his own somewhat numerous business affairs were personally attended to.
He became a member of the Society in 1846, the next year after its organization.
Col. Swett was a descendant in the seventh generation from John Swett, one of the ninety-one grantees of Newbury, Dec. 7, 1642, through Benjamin,? who married Hester Weare; John,3 who married Bethiah Page; Joseph ;4 Samuel,5 the maiden name of whose wife was Anna Woodbury; John Barnarde and Charlotte (Bourne) Swett, the parents of our member. See Register, vi. 49–62. Thacher's Medical Biography, ii. 106.
Of the publications of Col. Swett we have seen the following: An Address, delivered at Salem, July 4, 1806, on a military celebration of the day by the Brigade and Regimental Officers, late Commissioned Officers and Three Independent Companies. At the request of the Officers. By Major Samuel Swett. Boston: 1806. 8vo. pp. 20.An Abstract of Baron De Rogniat's Considerations on the Art of War. With Notes. Boston : 1817. 8vo. pp. 24.-A Friend of the South in answer to Remarks on Dr. Channing's Slavery. 12mo. pp. 19.-Historical and Topographical Sketch of Bunker Hill Battle. Boston: 1818. 12mo. pp. 104, being an Appendix to Col. David Humphreys's Life of General Putnam.-Notes to his Sketch of Bunker Hill Battle. Boston: Dec. 1825, 8vo. pp. 34.*-History of Bunker Hill Battle. With a Plan. Second edition, much enlarged, with new information derived from the surviving soldiers present at the celebration of the 17th June last, and Notes, Boston : 1826. 8vo. pp. 30.-History of Bunker Hill Battle, with a plan. Third edition, with Notes. Boston: 1827. 8vo. pp. 58.-Sketches of a few distinguished men of Newbury and Newburyport. No. 1. Capt. Moses Brown, of the United States Navy. Boston : 1846. 12mo. pp. 24.—Who was the Commander at Bunker Hill with Remarks on Frothingham's History of the Battle. With an Appendix. Boston: 1850. pp. 39.t-Return of an Old Man to his Native Place. No. III. (Containing a sketch of Miss Frazier. - Defence of Col. Timothy Pickering, against Bancroft's History. Boston: 1859. 12mo. pp. 12.-Remarks concerning Richard Bourne and his Descendants, by S. Swett, at the first Anniversary Meeting of the Cape Cod Association, with additions, pp. 2.-Original Planning and Construction of Bunker Hill Monument. With engravings. From the New England Historical and Genealogical Register. Albany : 1864. 8vo. pp. 9.
UPDIKE, Wilkins, a corresponding member, died at Kingstown, R. I., Jan. 14, 1867, aged 83. His earliest ancestor, in this country, of which we have any account, was Dr. Gilbert Updike, a German physician of some celebrity, who settled on Lloyd's Neck, Long Island. When Col. Nichols reduced New York, in 1664, Dr. Updike and his three brothers, Richard, Daniel and James, went to Rhode Island. Gilbert married a daughter of Richard Smith, who was from Gloucestershire, Eng,, the friend of Roger Williams. Mr. Smith settled in 1641 near where Wickford now is. Dr. Updike had three sons, Lodowick,. Daniela and James. His three brothers above mentioned, were engaged in the “great swamp fight,” in 1675; Richard was there killed, and Daniel and James dangerously wounded. Of the sons, Lodowick alone survived his father. He married Catharine, daughter of Thomas Newton. Lodowick? died about the year 1737, and left several children: Daniel,3 Esther,3 Catharine, Sarah, Abigail and Martha,3 Richard, the eldest, having died before his father. The children of Daniel3 Updike were Lodowick,4 born July 12, 1725; Mary,born April 11, 1727; Gilbert' and Wilkins. Richard was ancestor of the late Daniel E. Updike, of Wickford, Mrs. Noyes, &c. His sons were Richardt and John, 4 who were both sea captains.
When Major Richard Smith, Jr., made his will, in 1692, he devised to Lodowick! Updike, son of Gilbert, his homestead and other large tracts of land in and about Wick
* Noticed by John Fellows in The Veil Removed, &c. New York : 1843. 12mo. pp. 231.
* This was replied to by Mr. Richard Frothingham, Jr., in a pamphlet, entitled "The Command in the Batile of Bunker Hill, with a reply to Remarks on Frothingham's llistory of the Battle, by S. Swett.' » Boston : 1850. 8vo. pp. 56.
ford. These ancestral estates have continued in the family down to a late day. Wickford, as a village, was formerly called Updike's Newtown, and is so put down on old maps. The original building was burnt in the Indian war and another erected. The present house, now owned by the Congdon family, contains, it is said, some of the materials of the old one.
Daniel3 Updike was for twenty-four years Colony Attorney General of Rhode Island. One of his sisters was grandmother of the late Prof. Goddard. Lodowick, son of Daniel, inherited the largest portion of the Smith and Updike property around Wickford in Quidnesit, and south to Annoquatucket River. He married Abigail Gardiner, daughter of John Gardiner, and grand-daughter of William Gardiner, of Boston Neck; and through her the subject of this sketch was connected with the Rev. John Sylvester John Gardiner, of Boston, and Robert H. Gardiner, of Maine.
Being a man of wealth and having a good position in society, Mr. Updike's family had all the advantages of education and social intercourse the country could then afford. His house stood near the high road for travel along the shore between Boston and New York, and Dr. Franklin and other men of distinction frequently availed themselves of the hospitality of a friend, instead of stopping at the ordinary country taverns of the time. There was constant intercourse, also, with the educated families of Newport. He died June 6, 1804, in the 80th year of his age, leaving six sons and five daughters. A blank leaf of an old folio edition of Beza's Latin Bible, printed in 1607, contains the entries of the births of eleven children of Lodowick+ Updike, of North Kingstown; and of these, Wilkins, the youngest, the subject of this notice, was born in that town, Saturday, January 8, 1784, at 8 o'clock in the evening.
Wilkins Updike was at the proper age placed in the academy at Plainfield, Connecticut, a fine classical school, which he had been fitted to enter by the preliminary instructions furnished him by teachers at home. On leaving the academy he studied law for a time in the office of Hon. James Lanman, afterwards Senator in Congress from Connecticut. In Newport he subsequently prosecuted his studies in the offices of Hon, William Hunter, and Hon. Asher Robbins, and in the office of the late Elisha Potter, in Little Rest, R. I. He was admitted to the practice of the law in 1808, and soon obtained a good degree of reputation in his profession. He married, Sept. 23, 1809, Abby, daughter of Walter Watson, of South Kingstown. They were married in New London, by a Congregational clergyman, the Rev. Mr. McEwen. Mrs. Updike died many years before her husband, leaving several children : Thomas B. Updike, now living in Manchester, adjoining Pittsburg, Pa.; Hon. Cæsar A. Updike, late Speaker of the House of Representatives of Rhode Island ; Walter W. Updike, attorney at law, now deceased. Her daughters were Mrs. R. K. Randolph, Mrs. Samuel Rodman, Mrs. H. A, Hidden, Mrs. John F. Greene, Mrs. John Eddy, and Mrs. Aritis T. Updike. After marriage he resided a while at Tower Hill, for two or three years on the homestead in North Kingstown, and went thence to Kingston (called at that time Little Rest), where he remained until his death. For many successive periods Mr. Updike was a member of the Rhode Island Legislature. His wit and peculiar style of eloquence always gave him great influence in the General Assembly. Hon. S. G. Sherman, now associate Justice of the Supreme Court, and Edward H. Hazard, Esq., of Providence, were students of the profession of the law in his office,
Mr. Updike devoted much time to collecting the scattered materials floating in tradition or to be found in books or letters, for memoirs of the lawyers who belonged to a preceding generation, and in 1842 he published in an octavo volume, pages 311, his Memoirs of the Rhode Island Bar. But for those memoranda which he with great patience and assiduity collected, much interesting matter relating to these individuals would have been, undoubtedly, forever lost and forgotten. Their names are as follows: Henry Bull, James Honyman, Daniel Updike (his grandfather), Augustus Johnson, Oliver Arnold, Henry Marchant, William Channing, Henry Goodwin, Rouse J. Helme, John Cole, Archibald Campbell, Jacob Campbell, James M. Varnum, Matthew Robinson, Robert Lightfoot.
In 1847, Mr. Updike published his great work, entitled- History of the Episcopal Church in Narragansett, Rhode Island; including a History of other Episcopal Churches in that State ; with an Appendix, containing a reprint of a work now extremely rare, entitled “ AMERICA DISSECTED," by the Rev. J. Macsparran, D.D. With Notes containing Genealogical and Biographical accounts of distinguished men and families, &c. It is an octavo volume of 533 pages; with a steel portrait of Rev. James McSparran, D.D. Dr. McSparran, who was sent over by the English Society for Propagating the Gospel in Foreign Parts, in 1721, and who had remained pastor of the church for many years, married, May 22, 1722, Miss Hannah Gardiner, daughter of William Gardiner, of Boston Neck. The wife of the Doctor, therefore, was an aunt of Mr. Updike. The sermons and letters of Dr. McSparran were in possession of the latter, as also a large collection of pamphlets and papers connected with the history of the Church. Nearly all the large landed proprietors of Narragansett had been supporters of the Episcopal Church--buttresses of the church, many of them--supporting it from without. Mr. Updike opened a correspondence with people in all parts of the country to obtain materials for his work, and the result of this was incorporated in the book. He has given nearly the whole church record as a text, and then in smaller type furnishes such information as he could collect as to the subjects or persons named in it. In this way he was enabled to incorporate sketches of all the old Episcopal clergymen and their churches, and genealogical accounts of the principal church families. The introduction of the church into this country, the attempt to introduce Bishops here, and its influence on the question of the Revolution of 1776, the controversies which took place in the church, and various matters connected with the country, its climate, population and society are largely treated of.
Mr. Updike had thought of undertaking another literary work. He had in his possession the journal of the convention of Rhode Islard which adopted the Constitution of the United States. He had intended to publish this with his recollections of the history of that event, and of the times of the men who figured in it. But his health began to fail, and he sent the journal to the General Assembly, and Judge Staples is now engaged in preparing it for publication,
There is a portrait of Mr. Updike, by Lincolm, said to be excellent both as a picture and as a likeness, when he was in the full maturity of his physical and mental powers. It is a radiant face, suggestive of strength and enjoyment. He was a man of great power and influence, and he seemed to know how and when to exert it; a man of marked originality, who will not be forgotten by his cotemporaries, nor lost sight of historically, at least, by those who may peruse his valuable publications.
We are indebted for much of the material incorporated in the above sketch to two articles published in the Providence Journul of January 31, and February 11, 1867.
King, Hon. John Alsop, a corresponding member, died at his residence in Jamaica, L, I., Sunday afternoon, July 7, 1867, aged 79. He was the eldest son of the distinguished Hon. Rufus King, and was born in New York city in February, 1788. His grandfather, Richard King, settled in Watertown, Mass., says Bond, as early as 1740, where he kept a shop, being by trade a housewright, and was connected in business with Ebenezer Thornton, being specially engaged in procuring timber for house and ship building. In 1745, he was appointed by Gov. Shirley, as Commissary of the troops destined for Annapolis Royal. In 1746, soon after his return from that expedition, he moved to Scarborough, Me., where the residue of his life was spent in agricultural and mercantile pursuits. He became the owner of nearly three thousand acres of land there, divided into several valuable farms, and was for many years one of the largest exporters of lumber in the District of Maine. He also served the public, long and faithfully, as a Justice and in many other capacities. His talents were such as in another sphere of labor would have secured him an honorable position amongst the intellectual men of the day. In public life he was honored and esteemed, in private life he was loved. Hc died at his residence near Dunstan Landing, March 27, 1775, aged 57 years. His first wife was Isabella Bragdon, of York, Me., by whom he had one son Rufus (father of our member), and two daughters, Mary and Paulina, both of whom married physicians, Hon, Robert Southgate and Dr. Aaron Porter. Isabella, the mother, died Oct. 19, 1759. The second wife of Richard King was Mary, daughter of Samuel Black, of York, born Oct. 8, 1736, married Jan, 31, 1762. Their children were Richard, Isabella, Dorcas, William, Betsey, and Cyrus. Two of these sons were men of such distinction it is well here to note them. William, born Feb. 9, 1768; died June 17, 1852; long known as Gen. King, was the first Governor of the State of Maine. He settled at Bath, and at one period is said to have been the largest ship-owner in the United States, with the exception of Lt.-Gov. Gray, of Salem. He was also Commissioner on the Spanish claims, and Collector of the port of Bath. His youngest brother, Cyrus, born in Scarborough, Sept. 16, 1772; died April 25, 1817; a distinguished lawyer and an eloquent pleader. He was the private secretary of his eldest brother, Rufus, while the latter was minister plenipotentiary to Great Britain. He settled in Saco, Me., married in October, 1797, Hannah, daughter of Capt. Seth Storer, of Scarborough; had five children. He was a Representative to Congress in 1812, and as a military man rose to the rank of major general.
Mr. Richard King, the elder, had three brothers, David, Josiah and William. It is highly probable, says Southgate, in his History of Scarborough (Maine Hist. Coll., Vol. XXI.
Vol. iii.), that Richard King was descended from the Kings of Kittery, who were settled there during the seventeenth century.
Rufus King, eldest son of the preceding, and the father of our member, was born in Scarborough, in thathen District of Maine, in the year 1765, After completing his preparatory studies at Dummer Academy in Byfield, he entered Haryard College, where he graduated in 1777 ; was the next year an aid to Sullivan in an expedition against the British in Rhode Island; removed to Newburyport, where he studied law with the distinguished Judge Theophilus Parsons; was admitted to the bar in 1780; afterwards a representative from Newburyport to the Massachusetts Legislature; a delegate to Congress in 1784, at which body, in New York, in March 1785, he introduced a resolution prohibiting slavery in the territory north-west of the Ohio; was a member of the convention in 1787 to form the present Constituticn of the United States, as also of the Massachusetts convention for considering that Constitution; was elected with Gen. Philip Schuyler, the first United States Senator from New York in 1789, having removed to New York city the year previous; was with his former colleague, Gen. Schuyler, elected senator under the Constitution of the United States; was re-elected for another term in 1795, resigned in 1796 to accept the mission to England from Gen. Washington, who had previously tendered him the Department of State, whick Mr. King had declined. He remained at the English Court during the administration of Mr. Adams, and two years of that of Mr. Jefferson, with great honor and advantage to his country. He was again United States Senator in 1813 and in 1820; filled other important offices; was appointed Minister to the British Court by John Quincy Adams in 1825, but was prevented by disease from entering upon the active discharge of his duties. After about a year he returned to his home at Jamaica, Long Island, where he died, April 29, 1827, aged 72. The long and brilliant career of Rufus King as an orator, statesman and diplomatist, possesses unusual interest to the student of American history, Few men have left so fair a mark or so good a record.
Hon. Rufus King married Mary, daughter of John Alsop, an opulent merchant of New York city, who represented that city in the Colonial Legislature, and was a delegate to the first Continental Congress in 1774. He died in 1794. (See Barrett's Scoville's) Old Merchants of New York City, Second Series, pages 294, 295.)
Hon. Rufus King had several distinguished sons. We will note them in inverse order. Edward, the youngest son, said to have been the cleverest of them all, was born in 1795, and migrated to Cincinnati, where he died in 1831. He married a daughter of Gov. Worthington, and greatly distinguished himself as Speaker of the Ohio Senate. He was defeated by only a single vote as a candidate for United States Senator in the caucus of his party that elected Ewing at his first terin. It is said that Henry Clay has left it recorded as having given his unqualified opinion that “ Edward King was the most eloquent speaker he ever heard.”
The next brother was the late Hon. James G. King, born in 1791; one of the most eminent bankers this country ever produced. He was assistant Adjutant-General of the State Artillery during the war of 1812 ; was a prominent member of the Thirty-first Congress, as was also his eldest brother, John Alsop King. His mercantile career was an honorable and eventful one. (See Hunt's Lives of Eminent Merchants.)
The next oldest brother, Hon. Charles King, born in New York, March 16, 1789, is the present distinguished President of Columbia College. He served through two campaigns during the last war with England, and was elected a member of the Assembly in 1813. At the close of his Legislative term he was offered the nomination to Congress, at the early age of twenty-two, This he modestly declined, and has since refused all political preferment. He has devoted himself, wholly-with the exception of a short mercantile career-to literary pursuits, in which he has gained an enviable distinction. He established and edited the New York American, with the aid of James Hamilton and Johnston Verplanck. Afterwards this paper was merged in the New York Courier and Enquirer, of which journal he became an associate editor, until his withdrawal to accept the Presidency of the College, which situation he still honorably fills.
John Alsop King (our member) has been more in political life than any of his brothers, During his youth, as before stated, his father was Minister to England, and therefore his two sons, John A. and Charles King enjoyed greater educational advantages than could have been received in this country at the time. They were both educated at “ Harrow," and were the school-mates of Lord Byron, Sir Robert Peel and other men of eminence. In 1812, John A. King was mustered into the service of the United States, and served during the war as Lieutenant of a troop of horse, which company was then the body-guard of Daniel D. Tompkins, Governor of the State, and commander of the United States forces in New York city. He six times represented