« PreviousContinue »
MT: Simon Orn
on ye right of Archeball Furgason MT: Stephen Daniel, Jun.
Stephen Daniel MT: John Bartell
Samuelt. Wells in behalf of yo Com*: chosen by ye Generall Court for y* purpose.
WALLINGFORD.—The children of John Wallingford, of Bradford, Mass., who mar. Mary, dau. of Hon. John Tuttle, of Dover, N. H. (referred to on page 137), were-1, John, born Dec.14, 1688 ; 2, Nicholas, born Oct. 28, 1691 ; 3, Sarah, born Dec. 29, 1693; 4, Ebenezer, born Sept. 30, 1695 ; 5, Thomas (Judge of S. J. Court, Province of New Hampshire), born July 28, 1697 ; 6, Judith, born March 16, 1699; 7, Abigail, born Sept. 27, 1702.
The Madison FLUTE.- A correspondent of the Lynchburg Virginian, writing from Manassas Gap, notices a great curiosity in the musical instrument line. It is a flute in three joints, made of pure rock crystal, beautifully carved out and polished, and is supposed to have been made by a convict in the mines of Siberia. It was presented to James Madison, then Minister to France, in 1813, and has the following inscription on the silver bands around the joints—first, “ A, S. E., James Madison, des Etats Unis," and “Lauvent à Paris, 1813." It was bequeathed by the ex-President to a nephew of his, and by him left to one of the commanding officers in Virginia, to whom it now belongs. It has been valued at $5,000, and is the only one of its kind known to be in the world.
Continued from page 177.
FEBRUARY, 1867. 4. The shoe business in Massachusetts is very much depressed.
6. George Peabody has made a donation of $1,000,000 for the promotion of the moral, industrial and educational interests of the more destitute portions of the south-western States.
9. Gold, 1.37).
Rev. Samuel Gilman Brown, D.D., Prof. of Rhetoric and Belles-Lettres in Dartmouth College, has accepted a call to the Presidency of Hamilton College, New York.
The Nebraska Bill passes the House over the President's veto.
10. The Steamer City of Bath, from Boston to Savannah, lost off Cape Hatteras. About 20 persons perish.
11. Remarkable elevation of the mercury in the barometer, it being 30° 82, at 2 p. m. Therm, attached, 59o. In open air, 271°.
15. Gold, 1.36 5-8.
18. A reunion is held in Danvers, Mass., in honor of the birth of George Peabody, whose public benefactions now amount to about $8,000,000.
22. Dea. Alfred White, of West Brookfield, Mass., celebrates the 60th anniversary of his marriage. About 400 persons present.
25. Gold, 1.38.
Among the manuscript treasures acquired by the British Museum during the past year were an autograph note-book of Sir Francis Bacon, containing memoranda relating to public and private affairs, schemes of literary work, &c. from July, 1608, to October, 1609.
MARCH, 1867. 1. Nebraska is declared a State by a proclamation from President Johnson.
3. Greenwood Cemetery, near New York, has been open twenty-seven years, and 124,000 persons have been buried there. It occupies the site of the battle of Long Island on the 26th of August, 1776.
12. Within forty years, 51,000 miles of railways have been built in the United States, costing $1,502,594,000. New England has 3851 miles in use, costing $199, 071,483; New York State 3023 miles, costing $152,579,769; Pennsylvania, which built the first railroad in the country in 1809, 4037 miles, costing $219,680,000.
17. St. Patrick's Day is celebrated in Boston. Address in Faneuil Hall by Gen. P. R. Guiney.
18. Gold, 1.34.
23. The famous Winter Garden Theatre in New York is destroyed by fire, together with the adjoining Southern Hotel, formerly the Lafarge House; loss about $200,000.
24. The first chime of bells in America was presented to Christ Church, Salem Street, Boston, one hundred and twenty-three years ago. The bells exist in a good state of preservation. The inscription upon the third tenor reads: “ We are the first ring of bells cast for the British Empire in North America, A. R. 1744."
APRIL, 1867. 5. Fast Day in Massachusetts. 15. Gold, 1.35.
19. The soldiers' monument at Concord, Mass. is dedicated. Address by Ralph Waldo Emerson.
21. The total amount of State tax to be raised by the cities and towns in Magsachusetts this year is $5,000,000, of which nearly one-half is assessed upon eight cities and towns within five miles of Boston, as follows: Boston, $1,694,150 ; Cambridge, $126,050; Charlestown, $92,400; Roxbury, $113,700; Chelsea, $40,250 ; Brookline, $54,250 ; Dorchester, $59,700 ; West Roxbury, $48,950. "Total, $2,229,450.
25. At recent coin sales in New York the following prices were obtained : Dollar of 1794, fine, $100 ; quarter-dollar, 1827, brilliant proof, $110; Mexican dollar of Maximilian, 1866, $5; Washington cent, 1791, small eagle, proof, $16; do., 1792, $17; Martha Washington half dime, $25.25. The naked bust Washington cent of 1792, described as the finest specimen in existence, was offered at $250, but no bid being made it was withdrawn. 28. Ice formed last night one quarter of an inch in thickness.
MAY, 1867. 1. Weather dull and heavy-season backward. West Cambridge, Mass. assumes the name of Arlington, Not less than 1000 persons attend the sheep shearing festival at Rutland, Vt.
Mrs. Betsey T. Eastman, of Salisbury, N. II. (mother of Hon. Joel Eastman, of Conway) will be 105 years old this month, the oldest person in the State probably. She went to Salisbury in 1767, and consequently has resided in that town a century, during which time she has enjoyed almost uninterrupted good health.
3. Choice family brands of four have reached the remarkable price of $22 per barrel, and English hay is selling at $48 per ton.
4. At a meeting of the Essex Institute in Salem, Mass., the announcement of Mr. George Peabody's donation to the Institution was made. Resolutions of thanks to the giver, and providing for the appointment of a committee of seven members of the Institute to confer with the trustees of the $140,000 given by George Peabody, Esq., for the promotion of science and useful knowledge in the county of Essex, to receive any proposals from said trustees and to report thereon, as well as to report any plan for future action, were adopted, and after an address by Dr. George B. Loring, who warmly eulogized Mr. Peabody, the following committee were appointed to act as provided in the resolution : F. W. Putnam, G. B. Loring, Chas. Mansfield, R. S. Rantoul, W. P. Upham, H. M. Brooks, Alpheus Hyatt.
Mr. and Mrs. Nehemiah Perkins, of Topsfield, end the fiftieth year of their married life. Eight children met at the old home, some with wives and some with husbands, to rejoice together in the long life of their parents. Among them was Rev. A. J. Pike, of Marlboro', Conn., who married a daughter. Mr. and Mrs. Perkins are members of the Congregational church in Topsfield; for nearly ten years, Mrs. Perkins's membership has been of longer standing than any other in the church.
7. Gold, 1.38 1-2.
13. Gen. Wm. L. Burt is commissioned as U.S. Postmaster of Boston, vice J. G. Palfrey.
Jefferson Davis released from confinement on bail. Among his bondsmen are Horace Greeley, J. M. Botts, etc.
15. Bi-centennial celebration of the incorporation of the town of Mendon, Mass President of the day, Dr. John G. Metcalf. Address by Rev. Carlton A. Staples, of Milwaukee, Wis., and an excellent poem by Judge Henry Chapin, of Worcester, Ms.
17. George Bancroft, the Historian, is appointed minister to Berlin. 20. Hon. Henry Wilson makes his last address in his tour through the Southern States, at Huntsville, Ala.
24. The new Town Hall at N. Andover dedicated. 30. Gold, 1.37.
CENTENNIAL AND OTHER CELEBRATIONS. BoothBAY, MAINE, CENTENNIAL DISCOURSE.-On the 23d of September, 1866, a sermon was delivered by the Pastor, Rev. Leander S. Coan, in the First Congregational Church in Boothbay, celebrating their one hundreth anniversary. Rev. John Murray assumed the pastoral charge of the Society, July 28, 1766. He entered upon his work, by dedicating the Old Meeting House, the inside of which, at that time, was unfinished. The frame of the house was raised the year previous, on the 27th day of September.
Mr. Murray remained at Boothbay, as a Pastor, a little less than twelve years. He went from thence to Newburyport, where he died March 13, 1793, aged fifty-one. An interim occurred after he left, during which Mr. Gould, Mr. Chapin and others preached to the people. The next pastor was Rev. John Sawyer. He received a call to settle in Nov. 1797, and came the following March, remaining with them seven years. He preached his last discourse, Oct. 13, 1805. (He was born at Hebron, Conn., Oct. 9, 1755, and died at Bangor, Oct, 14, 1858, aged 103 years, 5 days. See Register, xiii. 93. He was buried, says Mr. Coan, in the town of Garland, in Penobscot County," " the place of his residence for many of the last years of his life."] His successors were Jabez Pond Fisher, Rev. Mr. Weston and Charles L. Cook. Rev. Nathaniel Chapman was next a supply, followed by Henry A. Merrill. In January, 1838, Rev. David Cushman was installed. Rev. Mr. Tobey was the next preacher, followed by Rev. Mr. Gould, as supply. Rev. Jonathan Adams, and Rev. Jonathan E. Adams his son, succeeded. The last preacher except the present pastor was Rev. Horace Toothaker.—Compiled from Rcv. Mr. Coan's published Discourse. Boston: 1866. 8vo. pp. 26.
Bi-CENTENNIAL CELEBRATION AT Mendon, MASg.-The 200th anniversary of the incorporation of the town of Mendon, occurred May 16, 1867. Since its incorporation, the town has been divided by the settlement of the towns of Milford, Blackstone, Millville, Uxbridge, Upton, Bellingham and Northbridge, all of which at one time formed a portion of the town of Mendon. Many of the inhabitants of these respective towns joined with the “mother town” in the observance of the anniversary. A large procession was formed under the direction of William F. Draper, Chief Marshal, escorted by the American Brass Band, of Providence. The Knights Templars of Milford, military companies of Milford and Upton, and the firemen of Milford, consisting of two companies, followed. Next, the officials of the day; inhabitants of Bellingham (incorporated 1719), escorted by societies; inhabitants of Uxbridge (incorporated 1724), accompanied by the Slaterville Brass Band, of Providence, R. I. ; Upton delegation (incorporated 1735), led by the Upton Band; Northbridge delegation (incorporated 1772), escorted by societies ; inhabitants of Milford (incorporated 1780), with societies, accompanied by the Milford Band, also by a delegation from Hopedale; Blackstone delegation (incorporated 1845), led by the Blackstone Band; citizens of Mendon. The exercises were in the Unitarian Church. Introductory Address by John G. Metcalf, M.D., the President of the day. Selections from the Scripture by Rev. Mr. Caldwell; anthem; prayer by Rev. Adin Ballou; hymn, “ Come thou Almighty King"; address by Rev. Carlton A. Staples, of Milwaukee, Wisconsin; original hymn, written by Rev. Adin Ballou; music by the band ; benediction by Rev. Mr. Coleman. The company repaired to the tent, where the dinner was partaken of, after which, with music and speeches the services were enlivened. Local and humorous reminiscences were given in a poem by Hon. Henry Chapin, of Worcester. Sentiments were read by Henry A. Aldrich, which were responded to by Rev. Adin Ballou, of Hopedale ; Francis Dean, of Uxbridge; Col. Stoddard, of Worcester; H. B. Staples, of Milford; Dr. Moses B. Southwick, Col. John Milton Thayer, U. S. Senator from Nebraska, Hon. Ira M. Barton, of Worcester, and Dr. George B. Loring, of Salem. A grand “hop" took place in the Town Hall, in the evening.
CENTENNIAL CELEBRATION AT NORTHBOROUGH, Mass.-The 100th anniversary of the incorporation of the town of Northborough was celebrated on Wednesday, Aug. 22, 1866. At sunrise and at ten o'clock, salutes were fired from Mt. Assabet. A procession, formed by Major Walter Gale, was preceded by the Westborough Cornet Band and the Union Hook and Ladder Company of Marlborough, followed by the Good Templars and the children of the town, escorted by the Shrewsbury Band. I'he engine Companies of the town had a place in the procession. The large company, nearly if not quite 3000 in number, assembled under a spacious tent. George C. Davis was President of the day. Voluntary by the Band. Anthem, “ Wake the Song of Jubilee." Invocation by Rev. H. L. Myrick, of Northborough, followed by selections from the Psalms by Rev. D. F. Lamson, pastor of the Baptist Church. A Hymn was then sung to “ Italian Hymn.” Prayer by Rev. George E. Sanborne, of the Orthodox Church. A hymn was then sung to " Missionary Chant." Address by Rev. Joseph Allen, D.D., of Northborough. A hymn followed to the tune of "Northfield." Then came the Poem by Thomas W. Valentine, of Brooklyn, N.Y. Music by the Band; the tune of America was then sung; the doxology followed. A bountiful collation was then served, toasts given, responses made, and a vote taken to adjourn for one hundred years.
Interesting letters were received from Rev. A. A. Livermore, D.D., President of the Theological School at Meadville, Pa.; Dr. Henry G. Davis, of New York ; Charles Rice, of Boston ; Sylvanus B. Pond, of Brooklyn, N.Y. The Address by Dr. Allen, Poem by Mr. Valentine, and other exercises connected with this Centennial, are given in a pamphlet, 8vo. pp. 48.
Soldiers' MEMORIAL IN King's CHAPEL, Boston.-An elegant memorial to the young men of King's Chapel Society, fourteen in number, who fell in the war, or died
of wounds, has been completed and put up in that edifice. The structure is chiefly of Italian marble. It is placed at the left of the entrance on Tremont Street, resting against a background of black marble, edged with red slatestone, and ornamented with an indented border of gilt. It is about ten feet in height from the base to the apex, and about five feet six inches wide. The tablet is in a recess about six inches in depth, overhung by a canopy, which is supported by a pillar at either side. In the centre of the canopy is a large carved marble wreath, in imitation of laurel, and upon either side a branch of olive and palm, beautifully carved.
The roll of honor of the Society gives not only the names of the deceased, but also their military rank, the regiment with which each was connected, the time and place of death, and age.
This monumental tablet was dedicated on Easter Sunday, April 21, 1867, Rev. Andrew P. Peabody, D.D., of Cambridge, officiating.
SOLDIERS' MONUMENT, CONCORD, Mass –Friday, April 19, 1867, the 92d anniver. sary of the tirst blood-shed of the American Revolution, was celebrated by the dedication, at Concord, of a monument to the soldiers who fell in defence of the Union in the late war. This day was also the anniversary of the departure of the first volunteer company from Concord in 1861.
The monument, erected in the Square, opposite the Court House, from a design by Hammatt Billings, of Boston, is forty-nine feet six inches high from the foundation. It is composed of Concord granite, from the works of the Messrs. Hollis, of Concord, . N. H.
The names of thirty-two who died for their country, in the war of the rebellion, are inscribed on a metal plate, on the west side of the monument. The regiments in which the deceased patriots served are also designated on the stone.
The ceremonies were opened with prayer by Rev. Grindal Reynolds, followed by the singing of an ode, written by George R. Bartlett, to the tune of “ Auld Lang Syne." The report of the Monument Committee was then read by Hon. E. R. Hoar. The dedicatory address was delivered by Ralph Waldo Emerson. Short speeches were subsequently made by Hon. Geo. S. Boutwell, Gen. Schouler, Col. Parker and Col. Marsh. An original poem was read by Sampson Mason.
SOLDIERS' MONUMENT AT SOUTHBOROUGH, Mass. The monument to the fallen heroes of Southborough, was dedicated Jan. 1, 1867. Dedicatory address by Capt. Samuel Appleton, of the Twelfth Massachusetts Volunteers. Remarks by Generals Gordon, Devens and others. The monument is placed on a slight elevation, near the centre of the Green, directly opposite the Congregational Church, and faces south. It is built of Fitzwilliam granite, and is twenty feet in height. It bears the names of H. E. Buck, 20th regiment; P. H. Cleary, 13th ; 0, Edwards, 1st; H. L. Fay, 20th ; E. A. Frederick, 56th ; F. A. Gould, 13th; J. Haggerty, 9th; P. Killgariff, 58th; R. Mulstree, 57th ; G. N. Nichols, 16th; A. G. Parker, 12th ; C. A. Trask, 13th ; E. J. Walker, 51st; H. N. Walker, 51st; C. H. Woods, Ist; C. F. Fisher, 3d cavalry, and M. J. Burditt, 4th artillery.
Previous to the delivery of the Address by Capt. Appleton, who is a grandson of Hon. Daniel Webster (ante, p. 8), a brief biographical sketch of each of the men whose names appear on the monument was giveu by J. P. Wilson.
SEMI-CENTENARY JUBILEE, AT BURLINGTON, VT.-The semi-centennial celebration of the First Congregational Unitarian Society at Burlington, Vermont, Jan. 9, 1867, was an occasion of unusual interest. The Church was dedicated Jan. 9, 1817. The halfcentury services included the repetition of the old hymns and tunes of fifty years ago, with the dedication sermon of "Rev. Mr. John Pierce, A.M., of Brookline." This discourse was read by Rev. Frederick Frothingham of Brattleborough. Rev. Edward Everett Hale, of Boston, delivered a discourse in the evening. There were other exercises, in which different clergymen took part. In the afternoon, a Local Conference was organized, under the name of the “Champlain Liberal Christian Conference." "A very agreeable party at the same house which welcomed, by a like elegant hospitality, the guests and parish at the dedication fifty years ago-a party presided over by the courtesy and dignity of the same hostess who welcomed the guests then, closed this delightful festival.”
SOMERVILLE, Mass., Anniversary.— The 25th anniversary of the incorporation of the town of Somerville was observed, March 21, 1867. A social entertainment was given in the new Town Hall on Winter Hill.