Page images
PDF
EPUB

of the Bible, suffered martyrdom in 1536, crying | ninus is approached, and we arrive at the station, out, “Lord, open the King of England's eyes." on the Quay Escaut. At present this little town has acquired consider

Tournai (Station). Flemish, Doornik. able reputation, from its possessing an excellent boarding-school for the education of young ladies;

Hotels : De l'Impératrice; de la Petite Nef; des

Neuf Provinces. this establishment is conducted by Mademoiselles Squilliers, and the concurrent testimony of innu

A fortified city, in the province of Hainault. merable Protestant families represent it as being

The town itself is indifferently built, and has one of the best and most irreproachable institutions

a gloomy aspect; it contains a population of on the continent.

32,835, who are engaged in the manufacture of

cotton and woollen stuffs. The workmen labour The route on leaving the last station takes in the view of many beautiful country seats, spread buildings, that of the Cathedral is the most

at home, instead of in factories. Of the public along the banks of the canal leading to Brussels.

celebrated; it is one of the most ancient and curious To the right, as we approach Brussels, is seen the

in the country. The internat ornaments are numePalace of Laeken, belonging to the King of the

rous. The choir is of a remarkably bold and strikBelgians, some time the residence of his sister, the

ing nature; the pulpit is a gem, by Gilis, and the widow of the Emperor Maximilian of Mexico. This

shrine of St. Eleu Marcus a masterpiece of workpalace was originally built for the Austrian

manship in gold. There is also a beautiful gallery, Governor of the Netherlands. It was afterwards

by Lecroux, of Tournai, and four genii, the gems inhabited by Napoleon, and is remarkable as being the place where he planned his Russian campaign. Purgatory, by Rubens, and a Crucifixion, by

of the place, by Duquesnoy. The pictures are, a It is enclosed by magnificent gardens and a park,

Jordaens. in which Leopold II. has erected a large and handsome observatory. The late queen, Louise

The churches of St. Quentin, St. Piat, and St. Marie, is buried here (1850). A statue of Léopold I. Jacques are interesting specimens of the primitive stands under a Gothic cross. A statue of Madame

Gothic style. The Church of St. Nicholas du ChaMalibran is erected in the cemetery at Laeken,

teau is of remarkable architecture, and possesses

some fine pictures. where she is buried, her husband having brought her body from Manchester. The statue is by Geefs,

Henry VIII. captured Tournai in 1518, and beand is placed in a kind of temple. A beautiful stowed it upon Cardinal Wolsey, who yielded it and lengthy avenue of trees (l'Allée Verte) extends

up to Francis I., and persuaded his royal master from Laeken to Brussels. The railroad traverses

to sell the town to the French King, influenced by the opposite side of the canal, and near the Botani

the promised interest of that monarch to obtain

his elevation to the papacy. cal Gardens, opposite the Rue Neuve at the Port de Cologne, enters

The Public Library contains 20,000 volumes, and BRUSSELS, see Route 6.

several curious manuscripts. The cabinet of

natural history, in the museum at the Hotel de ROU TE 2.

Ville, is worthy of notice.
Lille to Brussele.

Post Office.-Rue Notre Dame.
Viâ Tournai, Ath, and Enghien.

Five miles south-east of Tourvai, to the right From Lille to the French frontier at Baisieux of the post road to Ath, is the battle-field of Fonthe distance is only 7} miles, and three miles tenoy, seen immediately after passing the village further on is Blandain, where is the Belgian

of Bourquembrays. In this spot was fought the Douane. From here it is only about four miles to

battle between the English, Dutch, and Austrians, Tournai, on nearing which a good view of the

coinmanded by the Duke of Cumberland, and

French under Marshal Saxe. city is obtained. A beautiful coup d'oil is formed by the bridges, towers, houses, and rivers, all Quitting Tournai, the following stations are identified with some historical event. The ter- met with, none of which is of any importance:Havinnes, Bary-Maulde, Leuze (where the one of the most renowned in Belgium; it is still lines from Renaix and Mens come in), and Ligne. well attended. The principal trade carried on is After which we arrive at

in the quarrying of the stone, known as that of Ath (Station)-Inns: Paon; Duquesne. Pop., Soignies. It gives name to the forest towards 9,000. A fortified town on the Dendre, 21 miles from Waterloo. Tournai. A terrible fire in 1433, a hurricane in Post Office, near the church. 1600, and an earthquake in 1691, and other disas- Braine-le-Comte (Station).- Hotel: De la trous events, dismantled Ath of all her monuments, Station. Pop.,7,220. A small ancient town of Hain&c. St. Julien's Tower and the Parish Church ault, in the district of Mons. It is said that alone escaped the conflagration. Ath has sustained Brennus, the Gaul, 391 years before Christ, founded many deadly sieges. The fortifications constructed a fortress and tower upon the site of the present in 1815 are strengthened with great care A line church. The parish Church has a stone tabernacle goes down the Dendre to Grammont and Alost, at the choir, a fine piece of sculpture, but much past Lessines (Station); where a branch strikes

disfigured with gilding and painting. The front off to Ollignies (Station), 3} miles, and Bassilly of the convent of the Dominicans is an elegant (Station), 64 miles. Another line is open viâ structure. The manufactures are chiefly cotton Vaudignies-Neufmaison (Station) to St. spinning and lace thread spinning. On the right Ghislain (Station), page 49, near Blaton the line turns off to Charleroi and Namur. Tra(Station). At a short distance from Ath, on the vellers, proceeding direct to Namur and Liége, direct line to Brussels, viâ Hal (see below), is change carriages at this station.

Enghien (Station). A town containing about The surrounding district here is celebrated for 4,000 inhabitants. The beautiful park and gardens the superiority of its flax, the best grown anysurrounding the chateau of the Duke D'Aremberg, where. It is employed in the manufacture of destroyed during the French Revolution, deserve Brussels lace. To the north-west, a few miles notice. At Meslin l'Evêque, near Ath, the culti-distant, is Steenkerke, the spot where the Duke vation of the mulberry and silkworm has been

of Luxembourg defeated William III., with a loss introduced with much success. The Belioel, 6 of 7,000 men, in 1692. miles from Ath, not far from the road, is famous Quitting the last station, the railway pierces as the patrimonial estate of the Prince de Ligne- the tunnel of Braine-le-Comte, and enters a deep illustrious in the triple capacity of diplomatist, cutting, passing Heunnuyres, a commune of the soldier, and author.

province of Hainault; and La Gennette, whero [The old route to Brussels formerly passed by Jean Jacques Rousseau died, in 1741; after which Maffles, Attre, Brugelette, Lens Stations, it arrives at to Jurbise (Station). A small commune, with a Tubise (Station). A commune in the district population of 700 souls. It is about 8 miles from of Nivellos, in the province of Brabant, with a Mons by railway. The country along from Jurbise population of 2,500 souls.

Branch to Robecq to Braine-le-Comte is rather interesting. Here (Station). there is a correspondence with the railway from Lembecq (Station). A town containing 2,300 Mons.

inhabitants, with no objects of interest save its Soignies (Station).

old chateau and its numerous distilleries.] Hotels: Del'Ange; des Voyageurs; des Trois Rois.

The chief town of a canton of the province of The present Direct Line runs from Enghien Hainault, on the Senne, in the district of Mons, through Saintes to with a pop. of 8,000. Its origin is ancient. The Hal (Station). church of St. Vincent is believed to be the most Hotels: Des Pays Bas; Duc de Brabant. ancient in Belgium; from its shape, and by the A pretty town of 7,815 inhabitants, built style of its architecture, it is certainly one of the partly on the Senne, and on the canal Charleroi, most curious. The beautifully sculptured stalls having no objects of particular interest, save the are worthy of notice. The College of Soignies is church of St. Mary, celebrated as possessing

с

miracle-working image of the Virgin. It is of The Custom House Office is quite close to the wood, two feet high, and has acquired immense harbour, and open daily at 5 a.m., in summer. wealth by pious offerings, including gold plate Travellers going direct from Ostend to Cologne given by Charles V., Maximilian I., Pope Julius can avoid the necessity of having their baggage II., &c. A side chapel contains 33 cannon balls, searched here by declaring it for transit, and deaimed, it is said, at the church, and caught by livering it over to a railway official, who is to be the Virgin in her mantle, which she had spready found at the Custom House. over the town to protect it during a bombardment.

Ostend (Station).-Hotels: The high altar deserves special notice, it being

Hotel Fontaine, highly recommended, very conone of the most beautiful in Belgium, made of

veniently situated, near the sea and barbour. It marble, and sculptured, it would seem, by Italian

has a splendid dining-room. artists. Below is the tabernacle, and underneath

Hotel Continental. St. Martin dividing his cloak. The Seven Sacra

Hotel Mertian, first-class house, open all the year. ments are represented on the bas-reliefs, admirable

Grand Hotel du Littoral; first-class; well works of art, at the lower rows, and the entire

situated. construction is surmounted by a pelican. The

Hotel de la Plage, first-class hotel, between the gorgeous font, of brass, cast at Tournai, by the artist Lefevre, in 1467, is worth seeing. It is

new Kursaal and the King's Residence. placed in the octagon baptistery of the church, and Great Ocean Hotel, first-class hotel, facing the is covered with a spire, adorned by statues, and sea and the Baths. groups representing the Baptism of Christ, St. Hotel du Grand Café, first-class hotel, well Martin, &c.

situated on the Place d'Armes. Leaving Hal, we pass the village of Eysingham, Grand Hotel Marion; large; first-dass; cenand crossing the Senne, arrive at

trally situated. Loth (Station), about 5 miles from Brussels.

Grand Hotel d'Ostende. It has a very fine church, richly ornamented, and

Grand Hotel du Phare, facing the Baths. having over the high altar a painting (the Martyr

Hotel de Russie, very good. dom of St. Peter) by De Crayer.

Hotel Royal de Prusse, first-class hotel, facing Quitting Loth, the railway runs parallel with

the sea. the canal Charleroi, passes Ruysbroeck and Forest

Grand Hotel Cosmopolite. stations. After which, it leaves the suburb of

Hotel de la Digue. St. Gillis, crossing the gato of Hal on the left, the

Hotel du Lion d'Or et Restaurant, Place d'Armes, boulevard, and arrives at the south station,

very good. ontering

Ship Hotel.
Brussels-(Route 7).

Resident English Consul.
ROUTE 3.

English Church Service. In Rue Longue.

Ship Brokers.--Messrs. Perier and Son. London to Brussels, viâ Dover, Ostend, Omnibuses attend the arrival of each train. Bruges, and Ghent.

The Harbour of Ostend is formed by a natura London to Dover-(Route 1).

inlet of the sea, which has forced a passage between Mail steamers leave Dover for Ostend at 9-35 a.m. two sand-hills. The south-western bank, or beach and 10-5 p.m. The distance from port to port is is elevated above high-water mark at half tide, ani 63 English miles, and the voyage is made in 4'} on this bank the town is built. About 60,000 pas to 5 hours. Express trains run in connection to

sengers pass yearly to and from England; and : Germany, Basle, the St. Gothard, &c. Fifteen to 4 million rabbits are exported in cases of 60 dozen miles south, the light of Dunkirk is seen, before Ostend is a strongly fortified town, contain: the Ostend one shews itself. Two jetties flank ing 19,720 inhabitants, and is placed between the the Ostend harbour, which is dry at low water, sea and the harbour, being surrounded by water and form very nice promenades.

on every side, and enclosed with ramparts. The

[blocks in formation]

orking in feet hig - pious o Charles V A side cb

is said, m in her own to pi

altar de
e most
ad sculp
Below is

dividin
represer
art, at
on is
font, o
evre,
ne octa
with
Cesent

[merged small][ocr errors][merged small][merged small][merged small][merged small][merged small][merged small][ocr errors][merged small][merged small]
« PreviousContinue »