Page images

William McJunkins was Nevada's pioneer merchant. He erected the first storeroom in the place in 1853. It was a frame structure of considerable dimensions and was well filled with a stock of general merchandise. Mr. McJunkins was postmaster and railroad agent at the same time and did a good business, continuing in the place several years. William Fredregill had previously erected a small frame building 18x26 feet, and did a small grocery business. The McJunkins building was destroyed by fire in 1872.

The second storeroom was built by Jonathan Ayres who sold the same to J. L. Cook and William F. Goodbread. It was also a frame structure and is still standing near where it was first erected—on Main street, east side, south of the railroad. The store was opened by the firm of Cook & Goodbread with a stock of $4,000 to $5,000 and an extensive and profitable business was conducted by this firm for about three and one-half years when they sold out to William Balliet. Their stock consisted of general merchandise and in connection with this branch of their business they erected the first stock scales in the town and did an extensive business in the purchase and sale of all kinds of grain, live stock, etc. Messrs. Cook & Goodbread may also be considered pioneer merchants of Nevada.

D. B. Wolfe entered the dry goods business in 1872, in the room which had been occupied by Cook & Goodbread.

The third store of the village was established by S. S. Miller, who died a few years afterward and his stock of $2,000 in general merchandise was sold out at auction. From this time the mercantile interests went strongly forward till at the present date.


This society was organized about 1856. Meetings were first held one and one-half miles north of Nevada, where the church organization was first effected. Previous to the erection of the first church building, services were held in the Lutheran church, that building being the only church edifice in Nevada at that time.

In 1867 the first church building was erected. It was a brick structure with basement, consisting of a lecture room and class rooms. The audience room above was large, substantially and beautifully finished. The building was 40x70 feet and cost $12,000. It was beautifully located on North Main street on a part of the lot on which the present imposing structure stands. The corner-stone of the new church was laid, with appropriate ceremonies, July 1, 1905. Dr. S. E. Idleman, P. E., of Mansfield district, made the principal address.

The present stately edifice was dedicated February 4, 1906. Bishop Henry Spellmeyer, of Cincinnati, Ohio, preached the dedicatory sermon, and J. W. Powell, of Buffalo, New York, was in charge of the financial business; $8,500 was raised, enabling the society to dedicate the church, costing $16,000, free of debt. The building is constructed of pressed brick, buff in color, of Roman and Gothic design with trimmings of sandstone and roof of tile. The extreme length of the building is ninety-six feet, its extreme width sixty-four feet. Its seating capacity is about eight hundred, though a thousand people may be accommodated within its walls. The interior arrangement is convenient, artistic and commodious, with rooms fitted for all departments of church activity. Opalescent art glass was used in all the windows and with noteworthy artistic effect, especially in the two large windows, the one facing Main street representing “The Ascension,' and the one facing south, “Humiliation.” The church is lighted throughout by natural gas. All the departments of church activity are carried on with vigor and success.

The official board is composed of the following: President, L. A. Ensley, pastor; secretary, J. A. Williams; treasurer, J. F. Stuckey; F. J. Armstrong, Dr. H. E. Dwire, Wm. McBeth, L. C. Orwiler, 0. V. Riley, Albert Wyss, Dr. S. E. Bretz, W. A. Tucker, H. E. Kinzly, C. H. Kuenzli, Wm. Brown, Howard Armstrong, Dr. S. H. Brake, Mrs. S. E. Bretz, Mrs. H. E. Kinzly, Mrs. J. F. Stuckey, Mrs. Della Kieffer, Mrs. Dr. H. E. Dwire, Mrs. L. A. Ensley.

The following are the names of the pastors who have served the Nevada society from its organization, and the year of their appointment:

1858—W. H. Painter of Annapolis circuit.

1859–N. J. Close and A. P. Jones of Sulphur Springs circuit.

1860—J. M. Wilcox of Sulphur Springs circuit. 1861-62—S. Fairchild of Sulphur Springs circuit.

[graphic][ocr errors][ocr errors][merged small]

1863-64-B. D. Jones of Sulphur Springs circuit.
1865—J. S. Albright of Sulphur Springs circuit.
1866–J. Munsinger of Nevada circuit.
1867—W. H. Painter of Nevada circuit.
1868-69—B. A. Disney of Nevada circuit.
1870-71-D. M. Conant of Nevada circuit.
1872—Stephen Faut of Nevada circuit.
1873-74G. L. Hanawalt of Nevada circuit.
1875-76—Chauncey Baldwin of Nevada circuit.
1877—Geo. A. Marshall of Nevada circuit.
1878-79—J. H. Barron of Nevada circuit.
1880—S. O. Young of Nevada circuit.
1881-Stephen Faut of Nevada circuit.
1882—Charles Crawford (Supply)
1883–1. G. Zeigler (Supply)
1884W. O. Waters.
.1885-86—A. E. Winters.
1887–A. E. Thomas.
1889-92—E. S. Tompkins.
1893_N. W. Wagar.
1894-98—E. D. Smith.
1899-1901–J. W. Dowds.

1902-03–Fred E. Baker, from September, 1902, to April 10, 1904.

1904-06—N. E. Davis, from April 10, 1904, to January 24,

1907–E. E. Loose, from January 24, 1907, to September 16, 1907.

1907-10-L. R. Akers. 1911–L. A. Ensley.

The present pastor is a native of Coshocton county, Ohio, and entered the North Ohio Conference in 1902. He received his education from the Dresden high school, Scio College, Drew Theological Seminary and New York University.


By Frank Holmes

Nevada, one of the prosperous towns of Wyandot county, is situated on the main line of the Pennsylvania railroad. Its location is in the eastern part of the country, the line be

« PreviousContinue »