« PreviousContinue »
In May, 1877, at a meeting held in Beery's hall, the association known as “The Universalist Church of Upper Sandusky” was organized with a membership of fifty-three. A church edifice was erected in the fall of 1877, but it was not fully completed and dedicated until May 13, 1883. Although the building only cost $5,000, it is a very pretty brick structure, neat and attractive. It is situated on West Wyandot avenue. The Universalists have no organization there at the present time, and the building is occupied by the Christian Scientists.
The Episcopal church. Trinity Episcopal Mission was organized November 28, 1889. It was organized under the Rev. William M. Brown, who was then rector of Grace church, Galion, Ohio. The Rev. Brown was the rector, was archdeacon of this diocese, and was afterward made bishop of Arkansas. About two years ago he resigned that office, retired from active work, and returned to his home in Galion.
rices that were held in Upper Sandusky, were held in the Universalist church. There were no communicants here at that time, May 16, 1888. Afterward there were found Mrs. Anna H. Williams, Mrs. Allice Sterritt, Mrs. A. E. S. Close and Mrs. Thomas Plumb, the last named, a member of the Church of England. The first baptismal seryice was held on Easter, April 21, 1889, in the Universalist church, when Miss Maude Young was presented for baptism. The first confirmation class was presented by the Rev. William M. Brown, to the Rt. Rev. Leigton Coleman, bishop of Delaware in the Universalist church, May 9, 1889. Mrs. E. D. Bare was the first person confirmed. The chapel was built during the year 1890. It was blessed and opened for divine service by the Rt. Rev. William A. Leonard, bishop of Ohio. This mission flourished for a while and dwindled down until for several years there were only two little girls to active service and keep the church alive, Miss Mary Mathews and Miss Jane Hare.
Then it began to grow again about the year 1908 under the Rev. Edwin J. Owin of Fostoria, and the members were scattered again.
The Rev. Therlow Washburn Null of Fostoria is the present rector. Services are held once a week now and this mission is the smallest in Northern Ohio. Maj. John Dudley Sears gave ground for the church, his wife being an active
member. The money for building was raised by subscription; cost about $1,800.
HISTORY OF ST. PETER'S PARISH, DIOCESE OF TOLEDO, OHIO,
FROM ITS BEGINNING UP TO JANUARY 1, 1913
Wyandot county and Upper Sandusky, its county seat, are rich in historical lore concerning their aboriginal inhabitants, the Wyandotte tribe of Indians. Nowhere else in Northern Ohio are so many landmarks left to indicate what the habits and characteristics of these Indians were, so that even now, thriving, hustling Upper Sandusky, with its $250,000 courthouse, fine business blocks and beautiful residences, is known as the “Indian Village." But the narrow limits of a parish sketch will not permit a more detailed account of the early history of Upper Sandusky. Suffice it to say, that the reservation of the Wyandotte tribe, which forms the present site of Upper Sandusky, was bought by the United States government in 1843, its former owners then removing to the far West. Two years later, the county of Wyandotte (now Wyandot) was formed and in 1848 the town of Upper Sandusky was incorporated.
The Sanguinist father, Peter A. Capeder, was the first priest to visit the few Catholic settlers in the town. He did so in 1847, and ministered to their spiritual wants for a short while. The holy sacrifice was offered for the first time in a public hall over Ayer's restaurant. Later on, and until 1857, mass was celebrated in the residence of John Gaa, who, in April of that year, donated for a church and school site, a lot on Guthrie street, then in the outskirts of the town. The foundation of a brick church, 30x50 feet, was commenced on August 19, 1857, and the cornerstone was blessed on the 15th of September following. The Rev. Nicholas Gales, C. PP. S. was then in charge of the mission. In a few months the church was ready for use; it cost about $2,000. It was a plain building, without any architectural pretense, but served its sacred purpose for twenty-three years.
Upper Sandusky was attended from New Riegel as a mission until 1865, by the following Sanguinists: The Revs. P. A. Capeder, J. Van Den Brock, N. Gales, F. Gluck, P. Henneberry, A. Reichert, E. Ruff, M. Kreusch, A. Laux, C. Frensch and H. Drees.
Father Henneberry bought the present well-kept cemetery, covering about five acres.
The Rev. Bernard A. Quinn was the first resident pastor from July to October, 1865. His successors were the following priests: The Revs. G. A. Spierings, from October, 1865 to April, 1867; Joseph Reinhardt, to February 22, 1868, when he was killed by the cars, while on his way to Bucyrus, one of his missions; A. Gerardin, to November, 1868; G. Peter, to March, 1873; C. Braschler, to November, 1888, Rev. Aloysius Huthmacher, to July 7, 1905, and since then the present pastor, the Rev. John R. Forrer.
During the pastorate of Father Peter, the congregation far outgrew its small church. He forsaw the need of a much larger church for the proper accommodation of its steadily increasing flock. Hence to provide more spacious quarters, he bought in March, 1869, three lots at the corner of Findlay and Eighth street—in the most desirable part of the town. The purchase price was $3,000. Father Peter had the dwelling on one of the lots, fronting on Eighth street, fitted up for his residence, and took possession of it in April of the same year. The former pastoral residence was then rented until 1875, when the property was sold.
Father Peter, unable to commence the church, was obliged to resign his pastoral charge, because of illness. He was succeeded in March, 1873, by the Rev. Charles Braschler, to whom fell the task of building the much-needed church for which plans were drawn at once and approved by Bishop Gilmour. With less than $600 on hand, Father Braschler commenced the foundation in the fall of 1873, and on August 2. 1874, the cornerstone was blessed by the Rev. E. Hannin, as the bishop's delegate. Owing, however, to the financial panic of 1873, Father Braschler found it very difficult to raise the required means for continuing the building as rapidly as he had hoped; hence its progress was very slow. He and. his people struggled along with the burdensome debt, at times almost disheartened. Finally in April, 1879, the church was in condition to be used, even though its interior was far from finished. The church was dedicated to St. Peter the Apostle, by Bishop Gilmour on Sunday, October 17 of the same year, and has been in use ever since. Its dimensions are 60x140 feet. It faces Eighth street and extends along Findlay street. The architecture is Roman-Ionic, and the interior is handsomely ornamented with stucco work. The beautiful stained glass windows were all donated. With its furnishings the