Page images
PDF
EPUB

The Company has probably forfeited its

any further construction, corporate existence.

53 The Brooklyn and Long Island City Railway Company

(Brooklyn and Queens) Incorporation. December 31, 1879; General Railroad Law of 1850; corporate life, 99 years; capital stock, $5,000,000; route (about 10 miles) as follows:

From Greenwood cemetery, at the junction of 21st street and Ninth avenue, in the city of Brooklyn, to the easterly terminus of the contemplated New York and Long Island bridge, in the Third or Ravenswood ward of Long Island City, with a branch running from the main line to the easterly terminus of the New York and Brooklyn bridge, and to Fulton ferry.

Maps. On January 15, 1880, the Company filed three maps in the register's office of Kings County showing its route, and on August 13, 1880, an amended map in four sections, of its route.

Construction. No record of any construction. The Company has probably forfeited its corporate existence.

54 The Brooklyn and Long Island Trunk Line Railroad

Company

(Brooklyn and Queens) Incorporation. May 31, 1883; General Railroad Law of 1850; for purpose of constructing a steam surface railroad; corporate life, 1000 years; capital stock, $5,000,000; route (about 11 miles) as follows:

Commencing in the city of Brooklyn near the eastern terminus of the East river bridge; thence through the city of Brooklyn to the village of Jamaica.

Maps. June 2, 1883, the Company filed in the register's office of Kings County a map and profile of its route in two parts, from Atlantic avenue at Queens County line, to Brooklyn bridge.

Stock. In the Company's report to the Railroad Commission for 1884, it was stated that $94,100 of its capital stock had been subscribed and $9,410 paid in. At this time it described itself as “not in operation.”

Construction. No record of any construction. The Company has probably forfeited its corporate existence.

55 Brooklyn and Montauk Railroad Company

(Queens) Incorporation. November 20, 1879; chapter 430, laws of 1874, and chapter 446, laws of 1876, as a reorganization of The Southern Railroad Company of Long Island (no. 613) and The South Side Railroad Company of Long Island (no. 622); capital stock, $2,000,000.

Maps. April 9, 1880, this Company filed with the county clerk of Queens County a map of its route from the New York and Flushing Rail Road to Furman's creek, and February 17, 1889, of its route from Rockaway beach to Far Rockaway.

Franchise rights. November 22, 1879, this Company acquired by deed from James P. Wallace and wife the railroad of The Southern Railroad Company of Long Island (no. 613), formerly The South Side Railroad Company of Long Island, which had been conveyed to Wallace on June 3, 1879, in foreclosure proceedings, under a mortgage dated May 2, 1870, executed by the latter company.

March 22, 1880, this Company acquired by deed from Egisto P. Fabbri and wife the railroad of The Southern Railroad Company of Long Island, which had been conveyed to Fabbri, July 22, 1879, in foreclosure proceedings, under a mortgage executed by the latter company dated, October 31, 1874.

December 19, 1882, this Company acquired by deed from Henry Graves and wife, the railroad of the Far Rockaway Branch Railroad Company of Queens County, New York (no. 198), which had been conveyed to Graves, October 28, 1882, in foreclosure proceedings under a certain mortgage dated, July 1, 1869, executed by the latter company.

Stock and bonds. Of the $2,000,000 authorized capital stock, all was issued prior to 1883; funded debt (1880) $810,000. In 1888, a new mortgage for $600,000 was made, under which $550,000 of bonds were issued.

Intercorporate relations. (See also chart V, no. 22.) October 1, 1879, this Company's road was leased to The Long Island Railroad Company for a period of 50 years, at a rental of 25 per cent of the net profits. The road as leased to The Long Island Railroad Company consisted of 51.57 miles of inain line from

Brooklyn to Patchogue, 9.41 miles of branch line from Valley Stream to Neptune house, and 1.51 miles of branch line from Fresh Pond junction to the New York and Flushing Railroad.

October 5, 1889, this Company was merged into The Long Island Railroad Company (no. 341), by a certificate of surrender of capital stock filed in the office of the secretary of state on that date.

Construction. An extension of the main line from Patchogue to Eastport, a distance of 19.18 miles, was constructed in 1881.

56
The Brooklyn and North River Railroad Company

(Manhattan and Brooklyn) Incorporation. December 30, 1911; the Railroad Law, by the New York Railways and Third Avenue interests in Manhattan, and the Brooklyn Rapid Transit Company in Brooklyn; corpo rate life 50 years, capital stock $500,000; route (about three miles) as follows:

Beginning at a point in the marginal way adjacent to the North river at or near the Desbrosses street ferry, in the borough of Manhattan; thence by double track in, upon and across the marginal way and West street to Desbrosses street; thence by either single or double track in and upon Desbrosses street to Greenwich street; thence by either single or double track in and upon Greenwich street to Vestry street; thence by double track in and upon Vestry street to Canal street; thence by double track in and upon Canal street to a point easterly from the Bowery and opposite to the property acquired by the city for a terminal to the Manhattan bridge; thence southerly by double track in, upon and across Canal street to the southerly side thereof; thence by double track upon the land acquired by the city for bridge terminal purposes in the borough of Manhattan; thence by double track in and upon said bridge terminal to the approach to the Manhattan bridge in the borough of Manhattan; thence by double track upon and along the said bridge approach in the borough of Manhattan, the Manhattan bridge and the bridge approach in the borough of Brooklyn to land acquired for the Manhattan bridge terminal in the borough of Brooklyn; thence by double track upon and along the said land to Nassau street; thence by double track in, upon and across Nassau street to Flatbush avenue extension; thence by double track in and upon Flatbush avenue extension to a terminal at or near the intersection of Flatbush avenue extension with Fulton street, in the borough of Brooklyn.

Also a branch beginning at and connecting with the track above described at or near the intersection of Desbrosses street with West street; thence by either single or double track in and upon West street to Vestry street; thence ly either single or double track in and upon Vestry street to Greenwich street, and there connecting with the track above described; all in the borough of Manhattan.

Certificate of convenience and necessity. August 14, 1912, the Public Service Commission for the first district granted the Company a certificate of convenience and necessity, covering the above route.

Special franchise and intercorporate relations. (See also chart II, no. 17.) February 29, 1912, the Third Avenue Railway Company together with other Manhattan and Brooklyn companies obtained a temporary permit from the department of bridges to operate over the Manhattan bridge. The permit was confirmed by the Board of Estimate and Apportionment, July 15, 1912, with the proviso that only one company should operate over the bridge. The Third Avenue Railway Company was selected to do the operating. The Company had applied for a franchise over the bridge and it was pending at the time the permit was granted. The Manhattan Bridge Three Cent Line had also applied for a franchise over the bridge and its application was pending. The Manhattan Company attempted to prevent operation on the Manhattan bridge under the permit of the commissioner of bridges by an injunction which was vacated August 16, 1912, provided the Companies obtained the consent of the Public Service Commission. The Commission refused its consent to the exercise of the permit by order of September 20, 1912. began operation, however, under the permit of July 15, 1912, and by contract with the City of New York dated September 9, 1913, approved by the Public Service Commission, November 21, 1913, it obtained a franchise for the Brooklyn portion of its route and over the Manhattan bridge, connecting with the existing tracks on Canal street, in the borough of Manhattan as follows:

Beginning at a point in Flatbush avenue extension at its intersection with Fulton street; thence in and upon Flatbush avenue extension to its intersection with Nassau street; thence in, upon and across Nassau street to the northerly side thereof, to a point where connection can conveniently be made with the tracks upon the Manhattan bridge to be used by the Company, all in the borough of Brooklyn.

To operate the cars of the Company on two tracks when constructed upon the Manhattan bridge and approaches thereto; such tracks to be assigned to the Company by the commissioner of bridges, beginning at a point on the northerly side of Nassau street, where connection can conveniently be made with above tracks in Nassau street; thence upon and along land acquired for the Manhattan bridge terminal in the borough of Brooklyn, to the approach to the Manhattan bridge; thence upon and along said approach to the Manhattan bridge; thence upon and along the Manhattan bridge to the approach

The Company

thereto in the borough of Manhattan; thence upon said approach to land acquired for the Manhattan bridge terminal in the borough of Manhattan; thence upon and along said land to Canal street, and there connecting with the existing track or tracks to be substituted therefor in Canal street.

As the Company did not expect to operate its line a franchise for the route in Manhattan to the Desbrosses street ferry was not obtained. The operating company, the Third Avenue Railway Company, already had a franchise and tracks or trackage rights over the rest of the route.

57 The Brooklyn and Queens County Rail Road Company

(Brooklyn and Queens) Incorporation. February 24, 1883; General Railroad Law of 1850; corporate life 99 years; capital stock $3,500,000; route (about nine miles) as follows:

In Brooklyn from Fulton ferry to the road of the New York Woodhaven and Rockaway railroad in the town of Jamaica.

Maps. February 26, 1883, the Company filed in the register's office, Kings County, a map and profile of its route from Queens County line at Eastern parkway to Fulton ferry.

Special franchises. In the Company's reports to the Railroad Commission, 1884 and 1885, the statement appears that a petition was submitted to the common council, city of Brooklyn, for a franchise to construct its railroad, and that the matter was referred to the committee on railroads. No record has been found of any action having been taken on this petition.

Stock. In the Company's first report to the Railroad Commission 1884, it stated that $137,000 of its stock had been subscribed and $1,000 paid in.

Construction. No record of any construction. The Company has probably forfeited its corporate existence.

58 The Brooklyn and Rockaway Beach Railroad Company

(Brooklyn and Queens) Incorporation. December 24, 1863; corporate life, 100 years; capital stock, $75,000; route (about three miles) as follows:

Commencing at or in the vicinity of the easterly termination of the route of the Broadway Railroad Company in the village of East New York and terminating at or near the channel of Jamaica bay in the vicinity of Canarsie point.

« PreviousContinue »